The purpose of the South Carolina Contractor's Licensing Board is to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public through the regulation of businesses and individuals who identify, assess, and provide contract work to individuals or other legal entities.
Additional information related to obtaining a license can be found in Licensure Information.
General and Mechanical contractors are able to perform commercial, industrial, and residential work. If you wish to perform only residential work, you must contact the Residential Builders Commission at 803-896-4696 for more information.
The Municipal Association of South Carolina (MASC) is a trade certification program - not a licensing agency of the State. MASC offers various trade certifications in the construction industry for Journeyman and Master Electrician, Plumber, HVAC, Gas Fitter, Sheet Metal, and Pipefitter. Contact them at (803) 799-9574 for information. NOTE: The MASC trade certification cards do not serve as a license to perform any type of construction for residential work over $500 or for commercial work over $5000.
Please see the list below detailing work which may not require a license. Although no specific license is required to perform the work below, portions of the work that are regulated by this Board may require a General or Mechanical Contractor license with the appropriate classification(s) pursuant to SC Code ann. §40-11-410 when the total cost of construction for the regulated work is greater than $5000.
General and Mechanical Contractor’s License
A General or Mechanical Contractor’s license is required for anyone performing "commercial” construction over $5000 in the regulated classifications listed in Title 40, Chapter 11, Section 40-11-410, An Act to Regulate the Practice of General and Mechanical Contracting in S.C.
To be eligible for licensure, applicants must pass a technical exam (when required), a business management/law exam and be able to document two (2) years of experience within the last 5 years for the classification(s) of work in which you are applying. Applicants may be able to waive the technical exam if they are licensed in a reciprocal state. Additional information can be found under Licensure Information.
If you wish to perform only residential work, you must contact the Residential Builders Commission for more information.
To determine if a license is required and what type is needed, more information can be found here:
Classification Definitions - See Section 40-11-410