Frequently Asked Questions

    If a Speech-Language Pathologist is licensed with the Board, must they adhere to licensure requirements regardless of practice settings? 

    Answer: Yes, all licensees must adhere to all Board licensure requirements regardless of the practice setting.

    Are licensed school-based Speech-Language Pathologists exempt from licensure in the provision of Medicaid services?

    Answer: All questions related to billing concerns would need to be address to the third pay parties. The board does not answer questions related to billing.

    If licensed individuals working in the school setting are providing supervision, are they held to the same Board requirements for supervision if they are supervising someone who is not licensed?

    Answer: No, while the licensed supervising individual must adhere to any provision as required by the Board for supervising licensed individuals, there are no licensure provisions for licensed individuals who are supervising unlicensed individuals. Specifically, the Board's licensure provision only provides for licensed Speech-Language Pathologist supervision of licensed Speech-Language Pathology Assistants (Regulation 115-3).

    Under the Board's definitions in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-67-20, does the term "speech-language therapist” fall under the phrase "any similar variation of these terms” in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-67-20(11) and (14) because the service or function they perform is, in fact, under the prescription, supervision, and direction  of a licensed Speech-Language Pathologist?

    Answer: Yes - (see S.C. Code Ann. § 40-67-20(11) and (14).  

    Under the Board's definitions in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-67-20, and the requirements for licensure detailed in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-67-220 and its associated regulations, what are the qualifications of an individual holding a South Carolina Speech-Language Pathologist Intern License?

    An individual issued a South Carolina Speech-Language Pathologist Intern License has earned a post-graduate degree in speech-language pathology from a school or program approved by the Board who still needs to achieve a passing score on the appropriate professional exam approved by the Board and/or needs to complete the Supervised Professional Employment requirement for licensure consisting of a minimum of 30 hours per week of professional employment in speech-language pathology for at least nine months--totaling not less than 1,260 hours--under the supervision of a speech-language pathologist licensed by the Board.

    The use of the term "Intern" in the Speech-Language Pathologist Intern License designation is a term of art that is defined in pertinent part as "an individual who has met the requirements for licensure as a speech-language pathology or audiology intern." The Intern designation in no way indicates that an individual holding this license has not fully completed a post-graduate academic program in speech-language pathology.

    Are evaluations and reevaluations within the scope of practice of a licensee holding a South Carolina Speech-Language Pathologist Intern License?

    Yes, individuals holding a South Carolina Speech-Language Pathologist Intern License may perform, with appropriate supervision in the context of Supervised Professional Employment as detailed in S.C. Code Ann. Regs. § 115-3, any speech-language pathology services, including but not limited to, direct clinical work with patients (including evaluations and reevaluations), consultations, record keeping, and any other duties relevant to bona fide program of clinical work.

Frequently Asked Questions: Telepractice

    What is telepractice?

    American Speech-Language -Hearing Association ("ASHA") defines telepractice as the application of telecommunications technology to the delivery of speech language pathology and audiology professional services at a distance by linking practitioner to client or practitioner to practitioner for assessment, intervention, and/or consultation.

    In what settings is telepractice used?

    According to ASHA, telepractice venues can include schools, medical centers, rehabilitation hospitals, community health centers, outpatient clinics, universities, clients' homes, residential health care facilities, child care centers, and corporate settings. Before offering telepractice services, the practitioner should ensure that the proposed method and setting comply with national, state, institutional, and professional regulations and policies. See ASHA State-by-State for state requirements at the following link:

    Is telepractice practice allowed in South Carolina?

    Yes, see the Board's policy at the following link:

    Does the initial evaluation have to be conducted in person?

    The practitioner must use their professional judgment to determine whether the initial evaluation should be conducted in person or whether telepractice is appropriate in the particular situation. Please review the Board's Telepractice Policy at the following link:

    Does the Board control billing and reimbursement for telepractice?

    No, the Board does not control billing or reimbursement for any services provided to clients. However, it suggested that billing and third party reimbursement are factors that should be evaluated by the practitioner before engaging in telepractice.

    Can a practitioner licensed in another state provide services to a client located in South Carolina?

    No. Services provided to clients in South Carolina that require a license must be provided by a practitioner licensed in South Carolina.

    If a practitioner is licensed in South Carolina, can they provide telepractice services to a client in another state?

    Licensed practitioners must check the state licensing requirements for the state where the client is located.

    What are the ethical issues concerning telepractice?

    ASHA recommends that practitioners who provide telepractice services comply with the ASHA Code of Ethics (ASHA, 2016a). The specific principles identified by ASHA as affecting telepractice can be found at the following link:

    Is a practitioner licensed in another state who provides telepractice services in a South Carolina school setting required to have a South Carolina license?

    A practitioner working for a telepractice company that has contracted with a South Carolina school to provide services is required to have a South Carolina license. A practitioner that is not an employee of a state or federal agency or a South Carolina political subdivision is not exempt from licensing requirements. See S.C. Code Ann. § 40-67-300 at the following link:

    What factors should be considered when determining if telepractice is appropriate for a particular client?

    Please see the telepractice candidacy factors identified by ASHA at the following link:

    What are the technological requirements to engage in telepractice?

    Please see ASHA's recommendations on the use of technology at the following link: h

    How can I store and transmit client information during telepractice?

    Please see ASHA's recommendations for privacy and security of client information at the following link: