South Carolina Child Labor Regulations Summary
MINORS UNDER AGE 14
Generally no employment is authorized for minors under the age of 14, as interpreted under South Carolina Child Labor Statute 41-13-20. Employment of any minor under age 14 is defined as oppressive child labor.
Exemptions from this restriction apply under the following specific circumstances:
- Minors under age 14 may work in any aspect of show business, such as acting or performing in a theatrical, television, radio, or film production.
- Minors ages 12 and 13 may work during non-school sessions in non-hazardous farm jobs with written parental consent.
- Minors ages 12 and 13 may engage in farm labor at any agricultural establishment at which the minor's parents are employed.
- At any age, minors may work in any business or establishment which is 100 percent owned and operated by the parent of the minor.
The parental supervision exemption is precluded in occupations deemed hazardous, as defined in the 17 Hazardous Occupations Orders of the Fair Labor Standards Act.
( See list below)
At any age, minors may deliver newspapers to consumers.
MINORS AGES 14 and 15
Minors ages 14 and 15 must work within prescribed scheduling restrictions, as outlined below.
Normal school sessions include all days in which the school observes a standard academic calendar.
During normal school sessions, minors ages 14 and 15 may work a maximum of three hours per day, up to 18 hours per week. Work hours must fall within the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. Minors who attend school should anticipate a work schedule of 3:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., for example, in order to comply with these hourly restrictions.
During non-school sessions (i.e., summer vacations), minors ages 14 and 15 may work up to eight hours per day, 40 hours per week. Work schedules for non-school sessions must fall between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.
Appropriate employment for minors ages 14 and 15 includes, but is not limited to: cashiering, serving food, custodial duties, bussing tables, car washing, and delivery work not involving the operation of a motor vehicle.
Minors ages 14 and 15 may not engage in the following work activities: warehousing and storage; car repair; public utility duties; work involving the use of ladders or scaffolding; work involving food preparation; the use of grinders; or the operation of lawnmower and golf carts. Further, minors ages 14 and 15 may not engage in any occupation deemed hazardous, as defined under 17 Hazard Occupations Orders of the Fair Labor Standards Act. (See list below.)
MINORS AGES 16, 17 and Older
Minors ages 16 and older are exempt from the hour and scheduling restrictions.
These minors may work as many daily and weekly hours as the job responsibilities require or the employer requests.
Minors ages 16 and 17 may not engage in any occupation deemed hazardous, as defined under the 17 Hazardous Occupations Orders of the Fair Labor Standards Act. (See list below.)
No jurisdiction is established in the enforcement of child labor laws for employees who are 18 or older.
Hazardous Occupations Codes
If you are 18 years old, you may work at any time in any job.
If you are 16 or 17 years old, you may work in any occupation except those declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. The 17 Hazardous Occupations Orders for non-farm work deal with the following:
- Manufacturing or storing explosives
- Driving a motor vehicle and being an outside helper
- Coal mining
- Logging and sawmilling
- Power-driven woodworking machines
- Exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiations
- Power-driven hoisting apparatus
- Power-driven metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines
- Mining, other than coal mining
- Meat packing or processing
- Power-driven bakery machines
- Power-driven paper products machines
- Manufacturing brick, tile, and related products
- Power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears
- Wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations
- Roofing operations
- Excavation operations
Questions or requests for additional information may be directed to:
South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Office of Wages and Child Labor
110 Centerview Drive
P. O. Box 11329
Columbia, S.C. 29211-1329
Email: Tyler Livezey
Phone: (803) 896-4840
Fax: (803) 896-7680