
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH

 Employees have a right to a safe and
healthful workplace. Under the South Carolina
Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA),
each employer must provide employees a
place of employment free from recognized
hazards that are causing or are likely to cause
death or serious physical harm to employees.
 Employers must comply with occupational
safety and health rules and regulations
adopted by the South Carolina Department of
Labor, Licensing and Regulation. At the same
time, employees must comply with the rules
applicable to their own actions and conduct.
 To file a complaint about unsafe or
unhealthful working conditions, contact LLR’s
Office of Occupational Safety and Health, 110
Centerview Drive, Ste. 102, P.O. Box 11329,
Columbia, SC, 29211, (803) 734-9648. A
complainant’s identity is never revealed to
the employer without the authorization of
the complainant.
 An employer may not fire or in any manner
discriminate against an employee for filing a
complaint with LLR concerning unsafe or
unhealthful working conditions at his/her
place of employment. An affected employee
must file a complaint with the LLR director
within 30 days following an act of
discrimination. If the director determines the
employee was discriminated against, the
director may bring suit against the employer.
The court may require the employer to rehire
or reinstate the employee to his former
position with back pay.
 Employers who are concerned about
whether their workplaces comply with all
OSHA regulations, may request courtesy
inspections from LLR’s Office of OSHA
Voluntary Programs. Training programs are
also provided for employers and employees

in various aspects of health and safety on the
job. For more information, call (803) 734-9599.

PAYMENT OF WAGES

State law requires an employer of five or
more employees to notify each employee in
writing at the time of hiring of the wages
agreed upon, the time and place of payment,
and the deductions which will be made from
wages, including insurance programs. No law
requires an employer to provide an employee
with benefits such as vacation, sick leave,
health insurance, lunch hour, break time, etc.
However, if an employer decides to do so, he
must give notice of the policy to the
employee in writing and abide by the policy.
The employer has the option of giving
individual notification or posting the terms
conspicuously at or near the place of work.
Any changes in these terms must be given to
the employee in writing at least seven
calendar days before they become effective.
The employer must furnish each employee
with an itemized statement showing his gross
pay and the deductions made from his wages
for each pay period.
When an employee is separated from the pay-
roll, voluntarily or involuntarily, every
employer must pay all wages due to the
employee within 48 hours of the time of
separation or the next regular payday which
may not exceed 30 days.
If an employer fails to pay wages due to an
employee, the employee may recover in a civil
action an amount equal to three times the full
amount of the unpaid wages, plus costs and
reasonable attorney’s fees as the court may
allow. The employee must bring the suit
within three years. LLR will, upon complaint,
investigate wage complaints to determine if
any violations have occurred.

To file a wage complaint, contact LLR’s Office
of Wages and Child Labor, 110 Centerview
Drive, Ste. 102, P.O. Box 11329, Columbia, SC,
29211, (803) 734-9509.

MINIMUM WAGE/OVERTIME PAY

There is no state law covering minimum
wage or overtime pay. These issues are
addressed by the federal Fair Labor Standards
Act which is enforced by the U.S. Department
of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division. You may
contact this agency at 1835 Assembly St., Fed-
eral Building, Columbia, SC, 29201, (803) 765-
5981.

CHILD LABOR

LLR’s Office of Wages and Child Labor,  and
the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and
Hour Division have adopted identical
regulations covering child labor. These rules
limit the work hours of persons l4 and l5 years
old and prohibit the employment of persons
under 18 years of age in occupations
determined to be hazardous.
For more  information, contact LLR’s Office of
Wages and Child Labor, 110 Centerview Drive,
Ste. 102, P.O. Box 11329, Columbia, SC, 29211,

(803) 734-9509, or the U.S. Department of
Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Federal
Building, 1835 Assembly St., Columbia, SC,
29201, (803) 765-5981.

UNION/NON-UNION MEMBERSHIP

The South Carolina Right-to-Work Law
provides that employees shall not be
deprived of their rights based upon their
affiliation or  non-affiliation with a labor
union.

The LLR director under state law, is
responsible for assisting in the settlement of
labor disputes, except those involving
railroads and express companies doing
business by rail. Through LLR’s Office of
Mediation for Organized Labor, the Director
investigates industrial disputes, strikes and
lockouts, and their causes, and tries to help
both sides reach agreement.
The National Labor Relations Board regulates
employer/employee relations. Under the
National Labor Relations Act, private sector
employees have the right to form and join
unions, to bargain as a group with their
employers, and to engage in collective action
for their mutual advantage and protection.
Employers are prohibited from interfering
with the formation or internal affairs of
unions, and unions are prohibited from
engaging in unfair labor practices.
For more  information, contact LLR’s Office of
Mediation for Organized Labor, 110
Centerview Drive, Ste. 102, P.O. Box 11329,
Columbia, SC, 29211, (803) 734-9596, or the
National Labor Relations Board, 4035
University Parkway, Suite 200, Winston Salem,
NC, 27106-3325, (336) 631-5201.

DISCRIMINATION

The South Carolina Human Affairs Com
mission and the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission enforce labor laws
which prohibit discrimination in employment.
Contact the South Carolina Human Affairs
Commission at 2611 Forest Drive, Suite 200,
P.O. Box 4490, Columbia, SC, 29240, (803) 737-
7800, or 1-800-521-0725. The Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission can be
reached at 15 South Main St., Suite 530,
Greenville, SC, 29601, (864) 241-4400.
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EMPLOYEE AND EMPLOYER

RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIESSouth Carolina and federal
laws  are the source of various

rights employers and employees have in
their employer/employee relationships.
The South Carolina Department of Labor,
Licensing and Regulation is one of several
state and federal agencies which admin-
isters the laws assuring these rights. This
brochure provides information, in broad
terms, on the laws  administered by the
South Carolina Department of Labor, Li-
censing and Regulation and other state
and federal agencies. It is not intended as
a legal interpretation of the laws. You
should contact the appropriate agencies
directly with your questions or consult an
attorney.

PENSIONS/HEALTH INSURANCE

The Employee Retirement Income Security
Act (ERISA) was enacted by Congress in 1974
to protect the interests of employees who
participate in pension plans and the
beneficiaries. Employees and their family
members have the right to continue health
care insurance coverage at group rates
following termination by their employer,
death or divorce under the Consolidated
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA).
Information on pensions and COBRA rights is
available through the U.S. Department  of
Labor’s Pension and Welfare Benefits
Administration, 61 Forsyth St., S.W., 7B54,
Atlanta, GA, 30303, (404) 562-2156.

UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION

The South Carolina Employment Security
Commission administers the state
unemployment insurance program which
protects employees who become
unemployed through no  fault of their own.
For more information, contact the South
Carolina Employment Security Commission,
1550 Gadsden Street, P.O. Box 995, Columbia,
SC, 29202, (803) 737-2400.

WORKER’S COMPENSATION

The South Carolina Workers’ Compensation
Commission administers the state workers’
compensation laws which provide for the
compensation of employees and their families
for wages lost and medical expenses incurred
due to injury, disease, or death resulting from
work-related accidents and diseases. Contact
the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation

Commission, 1612 Marion St., P.O. Box 1715,
Columbia, SC, 29202-1715, (803) 737-5700.

 IMMIGRATION REFORM  AND CONTROL ACT

The Immigration Reform and Control Act
requires all employers to verify that each job
applicant is an American citizen or an alien
authorized to work in the United States. In
order to do so, an employer must ask a
prospective employee to provide some of the
following documents before he or she can be
hired: birth certificate, driver’s license, state-
issued ID card, Social Security card, passport,
certification of U.S. citizenship, certificate of
naturalization, alien registration card, etc. It is
illegal to discriminate against employees
because of their national origin or citizenship
status. For more information, contact the
Immigration and Naturalization Service, 210 E.
Woodlawn Road, Suite 138, Building 6,
Charlotte, NC, 28217, 1 (800) 375-5283.

THE EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act
 prohibits most private employers from
requiring or requesting any employee or job
applicant to take a lie detector test, and from
discharging, disciplining, or discriminating
against an employee or prospective
employee for refusing to take a test or for
exercising other rights under the Act. Federal,
state and local governments are not affected
by the law. Additional information can be
obtained, and complaints or violations may
be filed with the U.S. Dept. of Labor, Wage
and Hour Division, Federal Building, 1835
Assembly St., Room 1072, Columbia, SC,
29201, (803) 765-5981.
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