

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Board of Examiners in Optometry** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4679 • <u>Contact.Optometry@llr.sc.gov</u> • Fax: 803-896-4719 <u>llr.sc.gov/opto</u>

# Optometry Licensure Reinstatement Requirements and Application Process Overview

Application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

# **Licensure**

A person is qualified for reinstatement of licensure if the following requirements are met:

- License lapsed within two years of the date of application.
- Submission of forty (40) hours of continuing education.
- Submission of verification of current and in good standing optometry license in another jurisdiction, if applicable.
- Pass the South Carolina Optometric Jurisprudence Examination.

If the license lapsed for more than two years prior to the date of application, reapplication is required.

# **Application Process:**

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. Application In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
  - <u>Application Fee</u>: \$330 application fee (\$230 renewal fee + \$100 reinstatement fee) must be submitted in order to transmit the application. Check or money order are to be made payable to SC Board of Examiners in Optometry. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) *A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may be assessed on all returned funds.</u>*
  - Identification:
    - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
    - Copy of Social Security Card, signed
  - Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence Form
  - <u>Continuing Education</u>: Proof of forty (40) hours of continuing education must be submitted. Continuing education must meet the CE requirements found on the Board website at <u>www.llr.sc.gov/opto/ce.aspx</u>.
  - <u>DEA Registration</u>: DEA registration is required for licensees who prescribe controlled substances. Information regarding SC requirement for DEA Registration can be found on the <u>SC DHEC</u>, <u>Bureau of Drug Control website</u>.

- **Legal documentation of name change:** (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- <u>Personal History Questions</u>: You will need to attach a written explanation for any "Yes' answers in the Personal History Information section on a separate sheet of paper. Additional information may be requested by the Board Office or a Board appearance may be necessary.
- 2. Jurisprudence Examination: Once the completed application is approved, you will be emailed instructions with a UserID to take the exam online. A score of 70 or higher is considered a passing score. Do not send in your certificate of passing, the Board is automatically notified.

To prepare for the Jurisprudence exam, you should review the Optometry Laws and Regulations located on the website at <a href="http://www.llr.sc.gov/opto/laws.aspx">www.llr.sc.gov/opto/laws.aspx</a> .



# South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation South Carolina Board of Examiners in Optometry

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4679 • <u>Contact.Optometry@llr.sc.gov</u> • Fax: 803-896-4719 <u>llr.sc.gov/opto</u>

# **OPTOMETRY REINSTATEMENT FORM**

# Submit the following with your completed and signed application to the above address:

- Check or money order in the amount of \$330 payable to LLR- SC Board of Examiners in Optometry. *Fees are non-refundable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. NO CASH ACCEPTED.*
- Copy of Driver's License, State Issued ID or Passport.
- Proof of Continuing Education requirement of forty (40) hours. CEs must meet Board CE Guidelines found at www.llr.sc.gov/opto/ce.aspx.

For Office Use Only
Check No.:
Amount:

• Legal documentation for name change (marriage cert, divorce decree, etc.), if applicable

# NOTE:

- This application applies to Optometry licensees that lapsed within the last two years. If your license has been lapsed for more than two years, reapplication is required.
- Application includes one branch office location. If you practice at multiple SC locations, please complete a Branch office Registration form per location.

# **APPLICANT INFORMATION**

Full Name:	Maiden Name:					
Home Address:						
Mailing Address:						
Phone: Emai	il Address:					
BRANCH OFFICE INFORMATION						
Practice/Business Name:						
Physical Address:						
(Street, City, State & Zip Code)						
Mailing Address (if different from above):						
Office Phone:	Office Fax No:					

# **CONTINUING EDUCATION**

1. Have you completed the required number of CE hours for this license reinstatement?

## PERSONAL HISTORY

Answer all the questions below; you are required to include a written statement with your application for any questions marked "Yes". If you answer "Yes" to an arrest or conviction; you will need to attach a criminal background check from your state of residence (i.e., SLED, etc.).

YES NO

1.	Since your initial application or since your last renewal of your license with the Board, have you been involved in any pre-trial intervention program, been convicted, pled guilty, or pled nolo contendere (no contest) for the violation of any federal, state or local law or do you have charges pending (other than a minor traffic violation)?	YES	🗌 NO
2.	Since your initial application or since your last renewal of your license with the Board, have you had an application for a professional license, examination, certification or registration denied or refused by any licensing board or other entity or have you ever surrendered a professional license?	UYES	🗌 NO

- 3. Since your initial application or since your last renewal of your license with the Board, YES NO have you developed or been treated for any disease or condition, physical, mental, or emotional (including alcohol or other substance abuse) that may render further practice dangerous to the public?
- 4. Since your initial application or since your last renewal of your license with the Board, Area YES NO have you had any investigation, formal complaint, disciplinary action or consent order filed against you by any person, employer, or licensing board in any jurisdiction?
- 5. Since your initial application or since your last renewal of your license with the Board, YES NO has your ability to prescribe controlled substances ever been surrendered, revoked, suspended, limited or restricted?
- 6. Since your initial application or since your last renewal of your license with the Board, YES NO has there been any change in the status of your lawful presence in the United States?

## ATTESTATION

I HEREBY swear/affirm I have read all questions on this reinstatement application and have answered truthfully, accurately, and completely. I hereby acknowledge that failure to answer these questions truthfully, accurately and completely shall constitute cause for the initiation of disciplinary action against my South Carolina license.

Signature \_\_\_\_\_\_

Date \_\_\_\_\_

### PRIVACY DISCLOSURE

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.



## STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY



Pursuant to Section 8-29-10, *et seq.* of the South Carolina Code of Laws (1976, as amended), the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation must verify that any person who applies for a South Carolina license is lawfully present in the United States. Complete and sign this affidavit of eligibility. The information provided is subject to verification.

## Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States.

The undersigned	, of						
0	(Print clearly First, Middle,	, and Last name)	(Home Address, City, State, and Zip Code)				
being first duly sworn deposes and states as follows:							
Check only one b	oox:						
1. I am a United States citizen; or							
2. I am a Legal Permanent Resident of the United States eighteen years of age or older; or							
3. I am a Qualified Alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, Public Law 82-414, eighteen years of age or older, and lawfully present in the United States.							
4. Other:	P	lease submit any docun	nentation that supports this status.				
Date of Birth:							
Alien Number:		I-94 Num	iber:				
	umber 2, 3, or 4 yo a list of accepted immi		by of your immigration documents. See				

### Section B: ATTESTATION.

**I understand** that in accordance with section 8-29-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, a person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall, in addition to other sanctions imposed by this State or the United States, be guilty of a felony, and upon conviction must be fined and/or imprisoned for not more than 5 years (or both).

**I understand** that the representations made in this Affidavit shall apply through any license(s) or renewals issued, and that I shall have an affirmative duty to immediately advise the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation of any change of my immigration or citizenship status.

I swear and attest the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that under South Carolina law, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration or permit.

Signature of Affiant					
SWORN to before me this day	of, 20				
Notary Signature					
Notary Public for					
My Commission Expires:					

#### INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR COMPLETING AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY

#### CHECK box 1:

If you are a United States Citizen by birth or naturalization

#### CHECK box 2:

If you are a Legal Permanent Resident and you are not a U.S. Citizen, but are residing in the U.S. under legally recognized and lawfully recorded permanent residence as an immigrant.

# PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

#### CHECK box 3:

If you are a Qualified Alien. You are a Qualified Alien if you are:

An alien who is lawfully admitted for residence under the INA.

An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.

A refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.

An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or whose removal has been withheld under Section 241(b)(3).

An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.

An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian Entrant as defined by Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

An alien who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, or whose child or parent has been battered or subject to extreme cruelty.

#### **PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.**

#### ACCEPTED IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS:

Unexpired Reentry Permit (I-327)

Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card With Photograph (I-551)

Unexpired Refugee Travel Document (I-571)

Unexpired Employment Authorization Card Which Contains a Photograph (I-766)

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)

Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or I-94)

I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant, F-1, Student Status)

DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor, J-1, Status)