

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Manufactured Housing Board

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4682 • contact.MH@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-704-6772 www.llr.sc.gov/manu

MANUFACTURED HOME RETAIL DEALER REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS

Please review the <u>Statutes</u> and <u>Regulations</u> for the Board prior to applying for a license.

This application must be completed by an owner, officer, or partner.

LICENSING PERIOD

All Manufactured Housing licenses expire on June 30th of each even numbered year.

LICENSURE FEE

The license fee is as follows and made payable to the SC Manufactured Housing Board.

If the license is approved between the dates of:

7/1/odd numbered year -6/30/even numbered year the license fee is \$50

7/1/even numbered year -6/30/odd numbered year the license fee is \$100

Fees are non-refundable. The fee must be submitted in the form of a check or money order. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. NO CASH IS ACCEPTED.

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

Applicants who have a net worth of less than one hundred fifty thousand dollars (\$150,000) demonstrated by possession of one hundred fifty thousand dollars (\$150,000) in cash or cash equivalency or a credit score of less than seven hundred must appear before the board.

Reviewed Financial Reports are required for Corporations and LLC's. Compiled Financial Reports are required for Sole-Proprietorships and Partnerships. All reports must be completed by a licensed Certified Public Accountant. The balance sheet must have a date no more than one (1) year from the application date.

The credit report must show the name and credit score of the individual associated with this application. Credit reports must not be older than thirty (30) days from the date of application.

Applicants must provide one bank reference letter or two business reference letters. Letters must reference the applicant's name and must reflect good standing with that institution or business.

EXPERIENCE

The applicant (owner, officer, or partner,) is required to have two (2) years of experience in the manufactured housing industry or other relevant experience acceptable to the board.

TRAINING

Prior to applying for licensure, the mandatory pre-licensing training course for new retail dealers must be completed through the South Carolina Manufactured Housing School of Licensing. You can contact them to schedule your training at (843) 617-8643 or schoolofmh@gmail.com. More information can also be found here: mhisc.com/pre-lic/.

An owner, officer, or partner must complete the pre-licensing training course for the retail dealer license.

EXAMINATION

Prior to applying for licensure, the applicant must pass the retail dealer examination administered by PSI Examination Services. Contact them directly to schedule your exam: https://test-takers.psiexams.com/scmh/ or (855) 746-8173.

An owner, officer, or partner must take the exam for the retail dealer. Passing examination results will remain in effect for six months. A person who has not applied for a license during that period will be required to be reexamined before a license application will be accepted.

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND REPORT

The owner, officer, or partner must submit a state-wide criminal background report for every state of residence for the past seven (7) years. For partnerships a criminal background check is required for each general partner.

For South Carolina criminal background reports contact SLED at www.sled.sc.gov or (803) 737-9000. Out-of-state applicants may submit a state-issued report or any report generated by an accredited agency on PBSA's website found here: thepbsa.org/. All criminal background reports must not be older than thirty (30) days from the date of application.

GOVERNMENTAL DOCUMENTS

Applicants must provide the following:

- A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Articles or Organization, or Partnership Agreement from the state of origin.
- A copy of the appropriate registration certificate issued by the South Carolina Department of Revenue for retail sales.
- Proof of the Federal Employment Identification Number (FEIN).

If the retail dealer is a sole-proprietorship, the Articles and proof of FEIN are not required.

SURETY BOND

- The retail dealer must maintain a surety bond on file with the Board that covers the extent of the current licensing period (through 6/30/even numbered year).
- The surety bond must be on the Board's form, in the entity's legal name, and in the amount of \$30,000.
- The original surety bond must be submitted to the Board, ensuring the principal's signature, a visible surety company seal, and a copy of the surety company's Power of Attorney attached to the form. Docusign is not an acceptable form of signature.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Manufactured Housing Board

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4682 • contact.MH@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-704-6772 www.llr.sc.gov/manu

MANUFACTURED RETAIL DEALER INITIAL APPLICATION

Include with application:

- Application fee in the form of a check or money order (no cash) made payable to SCMHB. (A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.)
- \$30,000 Surety Bond made payable to SCMHB
- Reviewed Financial Report for Corporations and LLC's or Complied Financial Report for Sole-Proprietorships and Partnerships
- Articles of Incorporation if a corporation, Partnership Agreement if a partnership, or Articles of Organization if a Limited Liability Company
- 1 bank reference letter **or** 2 business reference letters
- Proof of registration with the S.C. Department of Revenue
- Credit report for the individual associated with this application
- PSI Exam Report
- Certificate of Completion for pre-licensing course training
- Copy of valid Driver's License, State Issued ID or Passport for the applicant
- Copy of Social Security card for the applicant
- Statewide criminal background check for applicant/applicant's representative for every state of residence for the past seven years (South Carolina residents must use www.sled.sc.gov)

COMPANY INFORMATION Licensee/Legal Name: DBA "Doing Business As" Name: Business Address: Physical street address, City, State, and Zip Code City. ____ County: _____ Mailing Address: ______ City: _____ State: __Zip: _____ Business Phone: _____ Email (required): _____ Federal Tax ID (FEIN) or Social Security No.: If applying as an entity provide the FEIN. If applying as an individual provide the SSN. Type of Business (select one): ☐ Corporation* ☐ LLC ☐ LLP ☐ Limited Partnership ☐ Partnership ☐ Sole-Proprietorship Give the state of the incorporation or organization: *If the business is a corporation, have you complied with the laws of South Carolina regarding qualification for doing business in this State, or been incorporated in South Carolina and have and maintain a registered agent and a registered office in this State per SC Code of Laws 40-29-200(5)? \square Yes \square No \square N/A List the names of the individual principal officers and their percent of business ownership. Also, list the name(s) of any other individual(s) who has 25% or more financial interest in the business. NAME % OWNERSHIP TITLE YEAR OF BIRTH

PRIOR EMPLOYMENT

List the past seven (7) years employment history for **each** owner, officer or partner. You are required to list the termination date and reason for leaving. You may attach an additional sheet if needed.

Е	BUSINESS/ EMPLOYER NAME	OFFICE ADDRESS	REASON FOR LEAVING	FROM - TO (mo/yr)	POSITION TITLE	1
) years of experience in the mar of Laws 40-29-200(G)?	ufactured housing indu		□ Yes □ 1	No
If yes	s, please provide detail	s about your experience. Use an	additional sheet if nec	essary.		
Each deale owner	ership. An authorized of or officer of the com	I housing retail dealer location refficial may be an owner, officer pany must maintain a manufaction writing within twenty (20) dealers.	r, or employee. An auth ured home retail salesp	orized official w erson or retail de	ho is not an aler license.	te
Nam	e:		Title: _			
Lice	nse No. (list as pending	g, if not yet issued):				
Is the	e authorized official lis	ted above an owner or officer of	f the dealer applicant?	[☐ Yes ☐]	No
	, the authorized official S.C. Code of Laws 40	l must submit a separate applica 29-237.	ation for licensure in c	ompliance		
For a each relate	person to whom a "yes ed to the conviction for	ow, please complete and submit s" answer applies. In addition, for anyone to whom the "yes" answer related to the relevant disciplin	or question number one wer applies must be su	e, official court d bmitted. For ques	ocumentatio stion number	n ·
	or the entity's authorize	ea agent.				
and/o	Has the legal entity, or guilty, or entered a plea	owner, officer, or partner in the a of nolo contendere in this or an a felony directly related to any	y other state for a viole	nt crime defined	□ Yes	□No

ATTESTATION

I HEREBY swear/affirm I have read all questions on this application and have answered truthfully, accurately, and completely. I hereby represent and warrant that I am signing with full and complete authority of each owner, officer, partner, and authorized official to submit the information contained in this application. I hereby acknowledge that failure to answer these questions truthfully, accurately and completely shall constitute cause for the initiation of disciplinary action against my South Carolina license.

Signature	Date
Print Name	Title
Sworn and subscribed before me this day of	, 20
Notary Signature:	(SEAL)
Print Notary Name:	
Notary Public for the State of:	
Commission Expiration Date:	

PRIVACY DISCLOSURE

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY



Pursuant to Section 8-29-10, *et seq.* of the South Carolina Code of Laws (1976, as amended), the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation must verify that any person who applies for a South Carolina license is lawfully present in the United States. Complete and sign this affidavit of eligibility. The information provided is subject to verification.

Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States.						
The undersigned	, of					
The undersigned, of, of, Of						
Check only one box:						
1. I am a United States citizen; or						
2. I am a Legal Permanent Resident of the United States eighteen years of age or older; or						
3. I am a Qualified Alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, Public Law 82-414, eighteen years of age or older, and lawfully present in the United States.						
4. Other:Plea	se submit any documentation that supports this status.					
Date of Birth:						
Alien Number:	I-94 Number:					
(If you checked number 2, 3, or 4 you must attach a copy of your immigration documents. See instruction sheet for a list of accepted immigration documents.)						
Section B: ATTESTATION.						
I understand that in accordance with section 8-29-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, a person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall, in addition to other sanctions imposed by this State or the United States, be guilty of a felony, and upon conviction must be fined and/or imprisoned for not more than 5 years (or both).						
I understand that the representations made in this Affidavit shall apply through any license(s) or renewals issued, and that I shall have an affirmative duty to immediately advise the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation of any change of my immigration or citizenship status.						
I swear and attest the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that under South Carolina law, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration or permit.						
Signature of Affiant						
SWORN to before me thisday of	, 20					
Notary Signature						
Print Name						
Notary Public for						

Rev: 02-02-2015

My Commission Expires: __

INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR COMPLETING AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY

CHECK box 1:

If you are a United States Citizen by birth or naturalization

CHECK box 2:

If you are a Legal Permanent Resident and you are not a U.S. Citizen, but are residing in the U.S. under legally recognized and lawfully recorded permanent residence as an immigrant.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

CHECK box 3:

If you are a Qualified Alien. You are a Qualified Alien if you are:

An alien who is lawfully admitted for residence under the INA.

An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.

A refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.

An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or whose removal has been withheld under Section 241(b)(3).

An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.

An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian Entrant as defined by Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

An alien who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, or whose child or parent has been battered or subject to extreme cruelty.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

ACCEPTED IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS:

Unexpired Reentry Permit (I-327)

Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card With Photograph (I-551)

Unexpired Refugee Travel Document (I-571)

Unexpired Employment Authorization Card Which Contains a Photograph (I-766)

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)

Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or I-94)

I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant, F-1, Student Status)

DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor, J-1, Status)

Rev: 02-02-2015