Reciprocity and/or Endorsement

South Carolina currently has reciprocity with North Carolina, Georgia and Virginia. (Reciprocity with these states exempts testing only.)

All applicants applying for a Professional Geologist registration through reciprocity must have graduated from an accredited geologic curriculum of four or more years with a minimum of 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours in geology or geophysics, approved by the board; and provide proof to the board of five years work experience (four years with a master's degree in geology). Georgia and North Carolina applicants who were registered under the grandfather provisions must provide verification of at least five years of responsible professional work experience after the date of registration. Virginia applicants who were registered under the grandfather provisions must provide verification of at least seven years of responsible professional work experience after the date of registration.

- (1) Submit application with a money order, personal, or certified check in the amount of \$235 for a two-year Professional Geologist registration. Applications submitted (and reviewed by the Board) after April 1 of even years (2012, 2014, etc.) require a prorated fee of \$150.
- (2) Applicants requesting a Professional Geologist registration must submit Employment Verification(s) showing a minimum of 5 years work experience in the field of geology, after graduation, from an approved college. Send form(s) to present and/or previous employers who will need to complete all required information and forward directly to the Board's office.
- (3) Professional Reference: Three references are required and must be submitted by geologists or engineers.
- (4) Applicants are required to have Verification of Registration/Licensure forms forwarded directly to the Board's office from all states where they are registered as a Geologist.
- (5) Have the school or college send your transcripts directly to the Board's Office.
- (6) Return completed Supplemental Application form listing the names of all companies, individuals, and institutions from which the Board will receive verification to complete your application.

Applicants originally registered in Texas:

The South Carolina Board has determined that persons holding licenses issued in Texas based upon the qualifications set by Texas statute since September 1, 2003, hold a license based upon comparable licensing requirements. **These applicants will not be required to submit official transcripts**. Individuals who hold licenses in Texas which were issued based upon different qualifications than those currently in effect will be considered on a case by case basis.

Endorsement

Applicants for registration by endorsement must hold a current, active, and unrestricted license under the laws of another state or territory that had requirements that were, at the date of licensure, equivalent to the requirements in effect at the time of the application in South Carolina.

Applicants for registration by endorsement must complete the same application process as candidates for reciprocity.