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RETAIL SALES OUTLET APPLICATION 
 

 
Include with your application: 

 Personal check, certified check or postal money order in the amount of 
$200 for a new facility or ownership change. 
(Fees are based on two-year licensing.) 
All fees are non-refundable. A returned check fee of up to $30, or an 
amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. 

 Articles of incorporation. (If an LLC: articles of association.) 

 
Tax ID No.:       
                         (Cannot process without tax ID number) 

Select one of the following:    New Facility/Change of Ownership     Change of Address/Location 
   Change of Facility Name 

 
Proposed Facility Name:             

Is business incorporated?   Yes     No 
If a corporation, attach articles of incorporation. If an LLC, attach articles of organization. If “Yes” and this is a 
request to change of ownership, attach Corporate Resolution papers. 

 
Physical Location Address of Facility:         City:      
                                                                                                                  (Cannot be a PO Box) 

State:     Zip Code:      Email:         

Business Phone: (             )       Business Fax: (             )      
 

Mailing Address of Facility:             

City:          State:     Zip Code:      

 
Contact Person for Facility:             
                                                                   (First)                                                   (Middle)                                               (Last) 

 
General Hours of Operation:             
 
Have you read and understand the South Carolina Funeral Service Law and the Rules and Regulations of the 
Board?   Yes     No 
 
This affidavit to be executed by an authorized representative of the applicant. 
 
The undersigned, in making this application to the South Carolina Board of Funeral Service swears (or affirms) 
that he (or she) is authorized to submit this application on behalf of the applicant named herein and that the 
answers and the information contained herein are true to the best of his (or her) knowledge and belief. 
 
                
Signature       Print Name and Title/Position 

FOR BOARD USE ONLY 

$200 New Facility or Ownership    
Changes 

 

Change of Address/Location  

Permit Issued  
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SC CODE OF LAWS 
TITLE 40, CHAPTER 19 

 
SECTION 40-19-20. Definitions 

(11) “Funeral home”, “funeral establishment”, or “mortuary” means an establishment where the practice of 
funeral service and embalming is practiced. All of these establishments must include the following facilities: 

  (a) a chapel or parlor in which funeral services may be conducted; 
  (b)  a preparation room equipped with a sanitary floor and necessary drainage, ventilation, necessary 

approved tables, hot and cold running water, and a sink separate from table drainage, instruments, and 
supplies for the preparation and embalming of dead human bodies; 

  (c)  a room containing a displayed stock of at least six adult caskets and other necessary funeral supplies; 
  (d) at least one motor hearse for transporting casketed human remains. 
 
(12)  “Funeral merchandise” means that personal property used in connection with the conduct of funerals or 

with the transportation and final disposition of a dead human body including, but not limited to, caskets, 
cremation caskets, urns, and burial clothing. The term does not mean mausoleum crypts, interment 
receptacles preset in a cemetery, and columbarium niches. 

 
(19)  “Retail sales outlet” means an establishment wherein funeral merchandise is sold or provided, or both, to 

the general public. A retail sales outlet may not contain lay-out or chapel facilities and is restricted solely to 
the sale of funeral merchandise and may not handle or arrange for the handling or disposition, or both, of 
dead human remains and may not offer or execute preneed funeral contracts, except as authorized by  

  Chapter 7, Title 32. 

 
SECTION 40-19-265. Permit requirements for funeral homes. 

(C) A permit for a retail sales outlet may be issued if the applicant: 
 (1) submits an application on a form approved by the board; 
 (2) submits to and successfully passes an inspection approved by the board; 
 (3) submits the applicable nonrefundable fee; 
 (4) is in full compliance with Section 40-19-290. 

 
SECTION 40-19-270. Permit for funeral establishment; funeral services in private residence, church, or lodge;  
inspection of premises; residence of funeral director; application for permits; partnership or corporation operating  
funeral establishment. 
 

(A)  No person shall conduct, maintain, manage, or operate a funeral establishment, crematory, or retail sales 
outlet unless a permit for each establishment, retail sales outlet, or crematory has been issued by the board 
and is displayed conspicuously in the funeral establishment crematory, or retail sales outlet. 

 

(B)  The board or its inspector or agents may enter the offices or premises of a funeral establishment, funeral 
home, mortuary, branch funeral home, retail sales outlet, or crematory to inspect the premises or observe the 
training provided to apprentices. Acceptance of a permit constitutes permission for entry to the premises as 
provided in this section without legal process. 

 

(C)  Not applicable to retail sales outlets. 
 

(D)  An application for a funeral establishment, crematory, or retail sales outlet permit must be made on forms 
furnished by the board and must be filed with the board accompanied by a fee established by the board in 
regulation. All permits expire on June thirtieth of each odd-numbered year. 
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SECTION 40-19-290. Disclosure of expenses related to services and merchandise; statements regarding legal 
requirements; disposition of payments received; investigations. 
 
(C)  A funeral service establishment, crematory, or retail sales outlet shall have a card or brochure with each 

piece of funeral merchandise stating the price of the merchandise. 
 

(E)  All payments received by any establishment licensed under this chapter for funeral merchandise being 
purchased must be placed in a trust account in a federally insured institution until the merchandise is 
delivered for use as provided in the contract in accordance with the sales agreement. Upon its own initiative 
or upon receipt of a complaint, the State Board of Financial Institutions must undertake investigations; 
review the books, records, and accounts of any establishment licensed under this chapter; subpoena 
witnesses; require audits and reports; and conduct hearings to determine if payments are being received in 
violation of the provisions of Chapter 7 of Title 32. 

 
 
 

FOR THE FULL VERSION OF STATUTE AND REGULATIONS GO TO 
www.llr.state.sc.gov/pol/funeral 
And click on Laws & Policies 
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