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South Carolina Panel for Dietetics 

Updated Regulations 

Several regulations for the South Carolina Panel for Dietetics, found in Chapter 40, have been 
updated and are effective May 26, 2023. 

Specifically, these changes are as follows: 

• Regulation 40-1, Definitions, has been updated to change the reference from “one
continuing professional education (CPE) hour” to “one continuing education unit (CEU)”
to be consistent with nomenclature that the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the
American Dietetic Association (CDR) uses.

• Regulation 40-5, Licensing Provisions, has been updated to remove the “endorsement”
language from the regulation to conform with statutes governing the profession, which
provide for licensure by examination or registration only.

• Regulation 40-5.1, Licensure by Examination, has been updated to strengthen the
requirements for primary source verification of licenses and education as well as
removing the passport photo requirement.

• Regulation 40-5.2, Licensure by Registration, has been updated to strengthen the
requirements for primary source verification of licenses and education as well as
removing the passport photo requirement

• Regulation 40-5.3, Licensure by Endorsement, was repealed as there is no statutory
authority for a pathway to licensure via endorsement.

• Regulation 40-5.4, Foreign Educated Applicants, has been updated to change the heading
to read “Foreign-Educated Applicants” for clarity.

• Regulation 40-5.5, Change of Address or Name, has been updated to add a 30-day
timeframe to the existing requirement that licensees update their contact information with
the Panel.

• Regulation 40-5.6, Applications Property of Panel, was repealed as being unnecessary.
• Regulation 40-6, Requirements for Renewal, has been updated to use CEU as redefined

in Regulation 40-1 provided above and to conform the regulation’s language regarding
inactive licenses to S.C. Code Ann. § 40-20-80, which provides that failing to timely
renew results in an inactive license, and an inactive license only becomes expired if the
license is inactive for more than four years.

• Regulation 40-7, Reinstatement/Reactivation of Expired, Lapsed Licenses, has been
updated to conform the regulation, including the regulation’s heading, with the
terminology used in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-20-80.  Changes were also made to refer to
S.C. Code Ann. § 40-20-60’s pathways to licensure in subsection C instead of exclusively
referring to CDR registration as originally provided because there are two pathways to
licensure pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. § 40-20-60.

• Regulation 40-8, Continuing Competency; Continuing Education Credits, has been
updated to use CEU as redefined in Regulation 40-1, including in the regulation’s
heading, and to change the continuing education proof required from only demonstrating
compliance with CDR to either active CDR registration (which requires 30 hours of

https://llr.sc.gov/AboutUs/MediaCenter/pidocs/2023-Regulatory-Review-Report.pdf
https://llr.sc.gov/diet/news/PanelofDietetics-NewRegulations.pdf


CEUs) or completing 30 hours of CEUs from CDR-accredited providers in conformance 
with S.C. Code Ann. § 40-20-60’s two pathways for licensure. 

• Regulation 40-9, Fees, has been updated to directly refer to Regulation 10-13 where the 
dietetics fees are specifically identified. 

• Regulation 40-10, Misconduct Defined, has been updated to change the reference from 
violations of any of “the principles of dietetics” to “Code of Ethics.”  The Code of Ethics 
is detailed in Regulation 40-11, and aligning the terminology between the two regulations 
should avoid any confusion. 

• Regulation 40-16, Licensure Timeframes, was repealed as this grandfathering provision 
has long passed and has limited real-world applicability now.  

 
Effective date: May 26, 2023 

 

 
Disclaimer: This regulatory update is not intended as legal advice. LLR is providing this 
update to notify licensees of recently updated regulations that may impact his or her practice 
area or license.  This regulatory update provides only a summary of the updated regulations 
and licensees are urged to review the updated regulations in their entirety, which are 
available in the hyperlinks above.  
 
 


