

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of Dentistry

110 Centerview Dr • Columbia, SC 29210
P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia, SC 29211-1329
Phone: 803-896-4599 • Contact.dentistry@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4719
llr.sc.gov/bod

Moderate Sedation Permit Requirements and Application Process Overview

Before calling in to the Board Office, you may check your application status online at: https://www.llr.sc.gov/bod/

Permit Requirements:

A dentist is qualified to receive a sedation permit for <u>moderate sedation</u> if the following requirements are met:

- 1. Completion of Education and Instruction:
 - For Moderate Enteral Sedation: completion of predoctoral, postdoctoral, or continuing education conscious sedation training in an accredited program to include twenty-four (24) hours of didactic instruction and ten cases commensurate with each intended route of administration (enteral, parenteral, or both). Cases must be live patients undergoing dental procedures. High-fidelity simulation cases are not accepted.
 - For Moderate Parenteral Sedation: completion of predoctoral, postdoctoral, or continuing education conscious sedation training in an accredited program to include sixty (60) hours of didactic instruction and twenty cases commensurate with each intended route of administration (enteral, parenteral, or both). Cases must be live patients undergoing dental procedures. High-fidelity simulation cases are not accepted.
- 2. Current certification in applicable life support training
 - Advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) if treating adults and children.
 - Pediatric advanced cardiac life support (PALS) if treating children under age thirteen (13).
- 3. Active license to practice general dentistry or dental specialist without active or pending disciplinary action.

A dentist is qualified to receive a sedation permit for <u>moderate sedation</u> by <u>licensed anesthetist</u> <u>administration</u> if the following requirements are met:

- 1. Current certification in applicable life support training
 - Advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) if treating adults and children.
 - Pediatric advanced cardia life support (PALS) if treating only children
- 2. Active license to practice general dentistry or dental specialist without disciplinary action, active or pending.
- 3. Utilization of a licensed physician, CRNA or dental anesthesiologist for administration of sedation.

(Rev. 03/2021)

Application Process:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- **1. Application** In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
 - Application Fee: \$200 application fee must be submitted in order to transmit the application. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.
 - Identification:
 - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
 - <u>Life Support Training</u>: certification must be active and completed within the past two years
 - PALS certification if treating children.
 - ACLS certification if treating adults and children
 - <u>Education</u>: Proof of completion of predoctoral, postdoctoral, or continuing education:
 - For Moderate Enteral Sedation in courses in conscious sedation training in an accredited program to include twenty-four (24) hours of didactic instruction and ten (10) cases commensurate with each intended route of administration. Cases must be live patients undergoing dental procedures. High-fidelity simulation cases are not accepted.
 - For Moderate Parenteral Sedation in courses in conscious sedation training in an accredited program to include sixty (60) hours of didactic instruction and at least twenty (20) cases commensurate with each intended route of administration. Cases must be live patients undergoing dental procedures. High-fidelity simulation cases are not accepted.
 - <u>Dental Office Staffing</u>: Copy of current CPR-BLS Certification for all staff providing direct, hands-on patient care. Certification must be active and completed within the immediate two years preceding application.
 - <u>Utilization of a licensed physician, CRNA or dental anesthesiologist:</u> Administration of sedation or anesthesia in a dentist's office by a licensed physician, CRNA or dental anesthesiologist, must provide a copy of their active SC and current ACLS or PALS certification.
- **2. Inspection:** All facilities listed on the application for sedation permit must pass inspection prior to permit issuance.
 - Once an application for sedation permit is approved, agency inspectors will be notified
 and the listed offices will be contacted for a scheduled inspection. Failure to pass the
 initial inspection will result in a re-inspection within thirty (30) days. Applicants who

fail to pass the second inspection for non-compliance or exceeding thirty (30) days, or require multiple rescheduling of an inspection greater than three (3) times will be charged at a rate of \$75 per hour (including travel time) for each subsequent inspection.

- All applicant facilities must meet the requirements as outlined in S.C. Code of Laws §40-15-410. Required equipment must be on-site at the time of inspection and remain at the facility during operation. Removal of equipment from the facility post-inspection may result in revocation of sedation permit and additional Board action. Additional equipment brought in by licensed professionals is allowed per the licensed individuals practice act and DHEC regulations.
- To offer moderate sedation, a facility must have the following equipment available:
 - A positive-pressure oxygen delivery system suitable for patient(s) being treated
 - Inhalation equipment with fail-safe system with either
 - A functioning devices that prohibits delivery of less than thirty (30) percent oxygen; or
 - In-line oxygen analyzer with audible alarm
 - Scavenging system when gasses other than oxygen is used
 - Intravenous access establishing equipment
- **3.** Upon a passed inspection, board staff will mail a sedation permit listing the permitted dentist(s). Sedation permits must be displayed in the facilities office. Dentists not listed on the sedation permit or practicing in facilities without valid sedation permit may not offer sedation beyond local anesthesia, nitrous oxide/oxygen, minimal sedation or any combination thereof. Licensed dentist found to be offering moderate sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia without a valid sedation permit will be subject to board action.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of Dentistry

110 Centerview Dr • Columbia, SC 29210
P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia, SC 29211-1329
Phone: 803-896-4599 • Contact.dentistry@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4719
llr.sc.gov/bod

MODERATE SEDATION PERMIT APPLICATION

Submit the following with your application to the address above:

- Check or money order only, in the amount of \$200 made payable to SC Board of Dentistry (Fees are non-refundable). A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED.
- Copy of your valid Driver's License, State-Issued ID, or Passport
- Copy of current* life support training:
 - o PALS Certification if treating children
 - o ACLS Certification if treating adults and children
- Proof of Completion of Predoctoral, Postdoctoral, or Continuing Education:
 - o <u>For Moderate Enteral Sedation</u> in courses in conscious sedation training in an accredited program to include twenty-four (24) hours of didactic instruction and ten (10) cases commensurate with each intended route of administration
 - o <u>For Moderate Parenteral Sedation</u> in courses in conscious sedation training in an accredited program to include sixty (60) hours of didactic instruction and at least twenty (20) cases commensurate with each intended route of administration.
- Copy of current* CPR-BLS Certification for all staff providing direct, hands-on patient care.
- If utilizing a physician anesthesiologist, CRNA or dental anesthesiologist, a copy of the active SC license and current* ACLS or PALS certification must be included.

Type of sedation: (check one)		
☐ Parenteral Sedation Only	☐ Enteral Sedation Only	☐ Both Parenteral and Enteral Sedation
Type of administration: (chec	ck one) ☐ Licensed Anesthetist Admir	.:
		nistration
Patients being treated: (check	cone)	
☐ children only ☐ adu	alts only BOTH adu	lts and children
Licensee Name:		
License No.:	DEA No.:	
Mailing Address:		
	(Street/PO BOX, City, State, Zip)	
Phone:	Email Address:	

^{* &}quot;Current" means the certification course has been taken within two years immediately preceding application.

South Carolina Code § 40-15-400(A).

Moderate Sedation (Rev. 3/21)

Page 1 of 3

First Location	FEIN:	
Physical Office Address:		
Email:	Phone:	
STAFF NAME	PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIALS	EXPIRATION DATE OF CPR-BLS CERTIFICATION
f applicable:		
Licensed Physician/CRNA/Anesthesiolo	ogist Name or Company:	
Phone:	Email:	
~ 47		
Second Location Practice Name:		FFIN.
Physical Office Address:		
Thysical Office / tauress.		
Email:	Phone:	
STAFF NAME	PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIALS	EXPIRATION DATE OF CPR-BLS CERTIFICATION
f applicable:		
Licensed Physician/CRNA/Anesthesiolo	ogist Name or Company:	
Phone:	Email:	

Third Location				
actice Name: FEIN:				
Physical Office Address:				
•				
Email:	Phone:			
		-		
STAFF NAME	PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIALS	EXPIRATION DATE OF CPR-BLS CERTIFICATION		
If applicable:				
Licensed Physician/CRNA/Anesthesiologis	st Name or Company:			
Phone:	Email:			
I am aware that the dental office and sedation Enteral Sedation must meet specific require inspection prior to being granted a sedation sedation must be unexpired and must be log	ements as outlined in South Ca permit. I am aware that the m	rolina Code § 40-15-410 and pass edications I administer with this type of		
Signature of Applicant		Date		
Print Name				

PRIVACY DISCLOSURE

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.