

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board

110 Centerview Dr • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC • 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4630 • contact.REAB@llr.sc.gov llr.sc.gov/appr

Effective August 2020

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS Doc No.255

Read this information and refer to the Real Estate Appraiser Act and Regulations located on our website, www.llr.sc.gov/appr thoroughly before calling our office for further information and/or application.

RESIDENTS

Age

Individuals must be 18 to be licensed as an appraiser.

Education

- I. An Appraiser Apprentice must be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency.
- II. The Licensed Appraiser classification requires a high school diploma or certificate of equivalency.
- III. The Certified Residential classification requires a bachelor's degree OR and associate's degree in a specific business category OR 30 hours of specific college courses OR Licensed for 5 years in good standing.
- IV. The Certified General classification requires a bachelor's degree or higher.
- V. The Licensed Mass, Certified Residential Mass and Certified General Mass classifications require a high school diploma or certificate of equivalency.

Resident applicants must supply completion certificates from approved course sponsors for their hours of education qualifying them for the examinations and reclassification.

- I. Appraiser Apprentice 75 hours [QE1, QE2, QE3 (National Approved USPAP COURSE)]. In addition to qualifying courses, must complete a supervisor/trainee course (minimum 4 hours).
- II. Licensed Appraiser or Licensed Mass Appraiser the above 75 hours, plus an additional 75 hours in the following courses (QE4, QE5, QE6 and QE7).
- III. Certified Residential Appraiser or Certified Residential Mass Appraiser- the above 150 hours, plus 50 additional hours in the following courses (QE8, QE9 and 20 hours QEE).
- IV. Certified General Appraiser or Certified General Mass Appraiser 300 hours total in the following courses (QE1, QE2, QE3, QE8, QE10, QE11, QE12, QE13, QE14 and 30 hours QEE).

Experience

- I. Appraiser Apprentice will be accruing experience while licensed.
- II. Licensed Appraiser/ Licensed Mass Appraiser 1,000 hours of appraisal experience in not less than six months from initial licensure as apprentice.
- III. Certified Residential Appraiser/Certified Residential Mass Appraiser 1,500 total hours of appraisal experience over a minimum of twelve months.
- IV. Certified General Appraiser/Certified General Mass Appraiser 3,000 total hours of appraisal experience with 50% or more in non-residential properties over a minimum of eighteen months.

Examination

The South Carolina Appraiser license and certification examinations were developed to meet the federal requirements and to provide a basis for determining minimal competency in the knowledge, skills, and abilities required for appraiser licensure or certification. These examinations have also been reviewed and endorsed by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of The Appraisal Foundation.

Miscellaneous

- I. Non-residents already licensed or certified in another state can apply with the Reciprocal Application found on the Appraisers Board website and must be in good standing with the state(s) they are licensed in. Non-residents who are not presently licensed or certified in another jurisdiction will submit the same documentation as a resident.
- II. Board Review Any applicant who has any felony or certain non-felony crime(s) or has been sanctioned by any licensing agency must reveal that fact on his/her application. The Administrator will review the application and then conduct an inquiry before an application is approved or a permit/license is issued. This may result in a delay in processing the application.
- III. To determine eligibility for the examination the Appraisers Board will screen applications for reclassification (to include all required education and experience for license upgrade). After qualifying to sit for an exam, the applicant is sent an eligibility letter with instructions to schedule an examination. It is then the applicant's responsibility to contact PSI Examination Services to schedule the test. PSI is the examination provider for the Appraisers Board. PSI publishes a Candidate Information Bulletin for all prospective examinees, which can be found on the Board's website. Examinations are scheduled every Monday through Friday in Columbia, Charleston, Greenville, Beaufort/Hilton Head, Myrtle Beach SC and Charlotte NC. Upon completion of the test, candidates receive their results immediately. These results must be forwarded by the applicant to the Board for the process for license upgrade to be completed. For more information, please read the Candidate Information Bulletin.

Recap Processing Fees - Upon original application for reclassification, each applicant must pay the following fees:

- 1. Appraiser's Board Reclassification fee is \$155 (this fee includes the \$80 National Registry fee).
- 2. PSI's examination fee is \$75.

Applicable license/certification fees are listed on the applications and on the Board's website.

Fees can be paid with a check or money order. Available online applications can be paid with a credit card or online check. When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us to use information from the check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account, or to process the payment as a check transaction. You authorize us to collect a fee of \$30 through electronic fund transfer from your account if your payment is returned unpaid.

PERSONS LICENSED IN OTHER STATES REQUESTING TO BECOME LICENSED/CERTIFIED IN SOUTH CAROLINA

Applicants licensed or certified in another state requesting to become licensed or certified in South Carolina may not be required to pass an exam in this state. Proof of experience may be audited by the Board (if requested). Qualifying education taken in another state will also be recognized if the courses were approved by the regulatory authority in that state.

E-mail or call the Real Estate Appraisers Board for further information or explanation. <u>Contact.REAB@llr.sc.gov</u> or (803) 896-4630.