Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Board Members
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
          2019 Examination Dates
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4599
        Administrator:Rita Melton
        Board Staff:Lisa Hawsey
        Board Staff:Keadrah Floyd
        Advice Counsel:   Bob Horner **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Dentistry


To All Applicants Applying  by Credentials:  Please note that under South Carolina law, in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-15-275(A)(5), an applicant applying by credentials must not be the subject of ANY final or pending disciplinary action in the military or any state or territory in which the applicant has held any other professional license. 

Some of the following files are in portable document format (PDF) and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print. If you do not have a copy of the FREE Acrobat Reader, visit

Fee Schedule

See fee schedule for fee details.

Dental License Information

Application to Practice Dentistry by Examination:

Application to Practice Dentistry by Credentials

Board Reg. 39-1, License to Practice Dentistry, was amended on 6/23/06 by the addition of new subsection D and establishes the fees for dental licensure by credentials. The application and requirements have been revised, as of September 1, 2006, and the newly-established fees are now in effect.

Regulation 39-1(D): Dentists licensed in any state or territory of the United States may be issued a license to practice dentistry in this State if the applicant complies with the provisions of Reg. 39-1(B) and Section 40-15-275 and pays a fee of $2000.00.The Board may waive $1500.00 of the fee upon agreement with an applicant to practice exclusively in a rural county for not less than two (2) consecutive years.

The following counties have been identified as "rural" counties by the SC Board of Dentistry: Abbeville, Allendale Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun, Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Edgefield, Fairfield, Georgetown, Greenwood, Hampton, Jasper, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Orangeburg, Saluda, Union and Williamsburg.

Dental Sedation Permit Applications

Restricted Dental Instructor License Information

  Application Packet for License to Practice as a Restricted Dental Instructor:

  1. Restricted Dental Instructor Application

  2. Requirements and Instructions for Restricted Dental Instructor License

  3. Verification of License Form

Restricted Volunteer License Information

  1. Restricted Volunteer License Application

  2. Statute Reference for Volunteer Clinics

  3. Verification of License Form

Specialty License Information

  Application Packet for License to Practice Specialty:

  1. License to Practice Dental Specialty Application

  2. Verification of License Form

Dental Hygiene License Information

  Application for License to Practice Dental Hygiene:

Dental/Orthodontic Technician Registration Information

  Application Packet for Registration as Dental/Orthodontic Technicians:

  1. Dental / Orthodontic Technician Application

  2. Requirements and Instructions for Dental/Orthodontic Technician License

  3. Dental Technician Exam Study Guide

  4. Dental Technician FAQ

Mobile Dental Facility and Portable Dental Operation Information

Local Infiltration Anesthesia Information

Nitrous Oxide Monitoring Information

mouse Apply via Online Electronic Application

Download these Instructions and Forms and click HERE to apply via electronic application for your Nitrous Monitoring Exam. This is for first time exam candidates only. If you need to re-take the exam fill out the below paper application.

OR apply via paper application

Reinstatement of License/Certificate

  Application Packet for Reinstatement of License / Certificate:

Licensee List Request

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Privacy | Disclaimer | Other Languages | Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)