Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Board Members
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
          Online Transfer
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4400
        Administrator:Rod Atkinson
        Board Staff:Ty'Yona Schofield, Education
        Board Staff:Joi Middleton, Education
        Advice Counsel:   Georgia Lewis   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Real Estate Commission


In 1956 the South Carolina General Assembly passed Act 833 creating the South Carolina Real Estate Council whose purpose was to protect the public's interest when involved in a real estate transaction. The statute regulated the real estate industry by defining standards of practice and requiring the licensing of those individuals engaged in the business. Effective July 1, 1956, the Act provided for the council to be administered by the South Carolina Insurance Commission and governed by a seven member council, six of whom were elected by the delegations from each of the six congressional districts plus one at-large member elected by the six other council members. All members were to be actively engaged in the practice of real estate. Act 833 exempted from the law the following 22 counties: Abbeville, Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Cherokee, Edgefield, Fairfield, Georgetown, Greenwood, Jasper, Lee, Lexington, Marion, Newberry, Orangeburg, Saluda, Union, Pickens, Allendale, Colleton, McCormick, and Oconee.

By amendment to the Act in 1960, the Council was removed from administration by the Insurance Commission and a separate South Carolina Real Estate Board was created with the governance remaining the same plus the addition of two public members who were not engaged in the real estate business and appointed by the Governor. The new Board was given broader powers to conduct its affairs and to name a Commissioner as administrator to serve at the pleasure of the board.

The real estate license law was amended in 1965 to eliminate the exempt counties and thus became a statewide law.

In 1972 the South Carolina Real Estate Board was renamed the South Carolina Real Estate Commission in order to more clearly distinguish it from the private industry organizations which were referred to as boards.

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission administers two other laws passed by the General Assembly: the 1968 Uniform Land Sales Practice Act which provides that all subdivided land located outside the State must be registered with the Commission prior to being offered or advertised for sale in this State; and the 1980 Vacation Time Sharing Plan Act which requires advance registration and approval by the Commission of projects offering interval ownership and lease plans.

In 1991, The South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Registration License and Certification Act was passed requiring that individuals performing real estate appraisals become registered, licensed, or certified in accordance with qualifications established by the law. A separate Board--the South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board--was established to oversee the new law, and the program administration was placed under the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.

The South Carolina State Government Restructuring Act of 1993, created the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR) with a Director appointed by the Governor to serve as a member of the Cabinet. Effective February 1, 1994, the Real Estate Commission was merged into the Department of LLR as an office within the Professional and Occupational Licensing Division (POL). The South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers program and Board became a separate office with its own staff.

In March of 1996, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission was grouped with the Board of Architectural Examiners, the South Carolina State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Surveyors , and the Environmental Certification Board to form the Office of Design, Environmental and Property Services (ODEPS), an office within the POL Division of LLR. For strategic reasons and in order to provide maximum, efficient staff support, in March of 1997, the staff supporting the Real Estate Commission also became staff support for the Real Estate Appraisers Board.

Current Members

Manning E. Biggers, York - June 2012

Tony K. Cox, Myrtle Beach - June 2012

Bucci Harley, Walterboro - June 2008

R. Scott Moseley, Irmo - June 2011

Carl T. Edward, Anderson - June 2012

Joseph J. Keenan, Charleston - June 2009

Evelyn K. Young, Spartanburg - June 2008

The following citizens have served in the capacity of elected/appointed Commission members: Former Members Frank H. Barnwell, Florence (former Vice Chairman) Daniel J. Ballou, Rock Hill Fred Beall, Myrtle Beach (former Chairman) Meryl D. Bulwinkle, Charleston (former Vice Chairman) Frank A. Burgdorf, Columbia (former Vice Chairman) Betty V. Carter, Charleston (former Chairman) Neil W. Chastain, Anderson Frank Hammond, Greenville (former Chairman) H. Bland Hammond, Columbia (former Chairman) Catherine F. Hartnett, Charleston (former Chairman) Mackie Hayes, Dillion Charles L. Johnson, Columbia Henry L. Jolly, Gaffney A. Elbert Jordan, N. Myrtle Beach Charles M. Joye, Columbia H. D. McCarley, Columbia (former Chairman) L. A. McCrary, Anderson (former Chairman) Clyde E. Morgan, Greenville Robert A. Moses, Sumter (former Chairman) Warren Norman, Rock Hill (former Chairman) Roy Peavey, Darlington (former Vice Chairman) A. J. Quigley, Greenville John S. Robinson, Orangeburg George W. Seignious, Charleston James Earl Spain, Conway Thomas C. Stevenson, Jr., Charleston Reddick B. Still, Jr. Spartanburg (former Chairman) Gerald Tompkins, Greenville Wyman W. Trotti, West Columbia W. Calvin White, Spartanburg (former Chairman) Jeff Wyman, Columbia, W. Steve Sloop, Irmo.

The following citizens have served in the chief staff position of Commissioner/Administrator:

R. Lee Kelly 1956 - 1960

Preston Manning 1960 - 1962

Herman McCarley 1962 - 1966

Ralph Baer 1966 - 1976

Fred Beall 1976 - 1984

Henry L. Jolly 1984 - 1994

Robert L. Selman 1994 - 2004

John R. (Jay) Pitts, Jr. 2004 - present

(History/S.C. Real Estate Commission (Revised 04/05))

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Privacy | Disclaimer | Other Languages | Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)