Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Board Members
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4588
        Administrator:Theresa Brown
        Advice Counsel:   Mary League   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

Examination Requirements for those licensed in another state who have not passed the NIC examination; and those who are not licensed, but seeking examination

As of June 2010 the SC Board of Cosmetology requires licensure applicants to pass a nationally recognized examination. The Board's position is that the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology testing is the only testing that is acceptable for South Carolina licensure. Therefore, all out-of-state applicants who have not passed the NIC theory and practical examination must do so through the established testing provider. The examinees are not allowed to have interpreters during examination. The testing service provider will expect following from each candidate:

(1) Review the most recent candidate information bulletin found on the testing service provider's web site.

(2) Complete the online application. Include a copy of two forms of identification with one being a photographic ID. (Social Security Card and Valid Driver's License or Identification Card)

(3) You will be required to take and pass the written and practical Registered Cosmetologist/Nail Technician/Esthetician examination prior to being issued a license to work in South Carolina. No temporary work permits are issued.

(4) If you are licensed in another state, but you have not passed the NIC examinations-Verification of licensure must be submitted to this Board by your State Board (you are not required to go back to school to obtain additional hours).

(5) If you have never been licensed in any other state, you must provide proof of 10th grade or greater education. In addition, you will be required to submit an original certified transcript of school hours earned within 24 months of graduation (Registered Cosmetologist- 1500 school hours; Nail Technician- 300 school hours; and Esthetician 450 school hours). All school hours greater than 24 months are null and void if you have not passed both NIC exams (theory and practical).

(6) Foreign applicants educated outside the United States MUST provide proof from the credentialing service listed below of high school and cosmetology education prior to seeking approval for examination: Aequo International: (844) 882-3786.

For more information and/or assistance with the application process, please contact Professional Credential Services, Inc. (PCS) at:

Incomplete applications will not be considered for testing and PCS will request missing items from you in order to move forward with the testing process. This office does not make requests regarding refunds for missed exam appointments or any other matter as you must seek resolution from the testing service provider. PCS will notify you by email of your examination date and your examination results. Your application will not be considered for licensing until the entire packet is sent to this office from PCS.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Privacy | Disclaimer | Other Languages | Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)