South Carolina Residential Builders Commission
Frequently asked questions to become licensed as a Residential HVAC Contractor
Q. How can I obtain an application to become licensed as a Residential HVAC Contractor
in the State of South Carolina?
A. Go to the Residential Builders website at www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders . Click on
Applications/Forms and then click on the HVAC application link and print the application form or contact the Residential Builders Commission at 803-896-4696 and request that an application form be mailed to you.
Q. Once I have my Residential HVAC application what is my next step?
A. Complete the Residential HVAC application form and submit to the Residential Builders Commission along with “documentation” of one year work experience (Section “3” of the application form) and a $100.00 application processing fee (certified check or money order) made payable to LLR-Residential Builders Commission.
Q. How long will it take to process my Residential HVAC application?
A. All Residential HVAC applications will be reviewed by the Residential Builders Commission staff for accuracy and completeness within seven (7) to ten (10) business days ( please allow this time before checking the status of your application online at our website https://verify.llronline.com . Click on the Online Services link and enter the requested information. Any application that is incomplete or the social security number is not provided or is incorrect will be returned to the applicant.
Q. Once my Residential HVAC application is approved what do I do next?
A. Once a Residential HVAC application is approved by the Residential Builders Commission staff an Examination Eligibility Letter will be mailed to the applicant. Your Examination Eligibility is valid for one year and you are allowed only three (3) attempts to pass the Residential HVAC exam within a twelve (12) month period. You must pass both the Residential HVAC Exam and the Residential Business Management and Law Exam.
Q. Do I schedule my Residential HVAC Exam and Business Management and Law Exam with LLR?
A. No. The Residential HVAC exam and the Business Management and Law Exam are administered by PSI Examination Services (PSI) and every approved applicant will schedule his/her own exam and make payment (by certified check or money order) to PSI Examination Services. You may visit the PSI website at www.psiexams.com for more information on their fees and exam services.
Q. After I pass my Residential HVAC Exams with PSI, what is the next step?
A. After you have passed the Residential HVAC Exam and the Business Management and Law Exam you must submit the following information to the Residential Builders Commission staff:
- A copy of your test results from PSI testing services.
- A certified check or money order made payable LLR-Residential Builders Commission in the amount of $100.00 if the license is issued for more than twelve (12) months before the next renewal date. If the license is issued for twelve (12) months or less before the next renewal date a certified check or money order made payable to LLR-Residential Builders Commission in the amount of $50.00.
- A surety bond in the amount of $10,000 (Original bond signed by the applicant with the power of attorney attached). The bond must be issued in the individual applicants name listed as principal not in a company or business name.
Q. Can I obtain a SC Residential HVAC license if I am licensed in another state without having to take the SC exam?
A. No. South Carolina is not reciprocal with any states for Residential HVAC licensing.
Q. I have a SC Mechanical Contractors license, can I obtain a SC Residential HVAC License without taking the Residential HVAC Exam?
A. Yes. A Residential HVAC license can be obtained without examination if the applicant is licensed as a SC Mechanical Contractor with a HVAC classification or has a Master Heating and Air license by exam from the South Carolina Municipal Association(MASC). All applicants must submit a completed Residential HVAC license application with documentation of the SC Mechanical Contractors license or the Master Heating and Air license from the Municipal Association, with all fees and a $10,000 surety bond for review by the Residential Builders Commission.
Q. Once I have a Residential HVAC license how often do I have to renew my License?
A. The Residential HVAC License is renewable every two (2) years before June 30, of each odd year (2013, 2015, 2017, etc.)
Q. Does the SC Residential Builders Commission recommend or have a list of schools, examination prep courses or seminars to help me prepare for the Residential HVAC Exam?
A. No. Examination prep courses and seminars are offered by individuals, businesses and technical schools or community colleges. The licensing board for the Residential Builders Commission is not affiliated with any of these individuals and the board does not sponsor approve or recommend any school or exam prep course or seminar to prepare for the Residential HVAC exam.
Q. I have a current Residential HVAC license can I renew my license online?
A. Yes. To renew a current Residential HVAC license online all you need is a Master Card or Visa and your userid and password. If you have misplaced your userid and password we now have a website that will provide this information to you. Go to http://renewals.llronline.com , once you select the START LOGIN PROCESS, there is an option to click and retrieve your userid and password. Enter your social security number and email address and your userid and password will be emailed to you.