
Residential Builders licensing requirement for reciprocity 
 
 
1. Completed application, properly signed and notarized. 

2. Waiver applicants do not have to complete the affidavit. 

3. $15,000.00 surety bond that lists the individual as principal. 

4. Copy of current state license. If license reflects the company name, please 

provide proof that applicant passed the exam. ** 

5. $180.00 license fee (if the license is issued 12 months or less before the next 

renewal date) certified check, cashier’s check, or money order only. 

or 

6. $260 license fee (if the license is issued for more than 12 months before the next 

renewal date) certified check, cashier’s check, or money order only. 

 
 
** The Residential Builders Commission has a reciprocal 
agreement with: 

 
• North Carolina 
• S. C. General contractors 
• Utah 
• Alabama 
• Louisiana 
• Georgia 
• NASCLA 

 
*license expires June 30th biennially regardless of issuance date 

 
 
Reciprocity waives the technical portion of the exam only, 
applicants are required to take and pass the Business and Law 
portion of the SC Residential Builders examination. 
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