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South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation 

 South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board  

P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia, SC 29211 
Phone: 803-896-4630 

www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/REAB 

 
Effective January 1, 2015 

 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
Doc #255 

 

Read this information and refer to the Real Estate Appraiser Act and Regulations located on our website, 

www.llronline.com/POL/REAB, thoroughly before calling our office for further information and/or 

application. 

 

RESIDENTS 

Age 

Individuals must be 18 to be licensed as an appraiser. 

 

Education 

An Appraiser Apprentice must be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency. There is a 

requirement for college-level education for the Licensed Certified Residential and Certified General 

classifications. The Licensed Appraiser classification requires an associate degree or higher, or in lieu of a 

degree, a minimum of 30 college semester hours in specified coursework. The Certified Residential and 

Certified General classifications require a bachelor’s degree or higher.  

Resident applicants must supply completion certificates from course sponsors for their hours of education 

qualifying them for the examinations and reclassification. 

I. Appraiser Apprentice - 75 hours [QE1, QE2, QE3 (National Approved USPAP COURSE)]. 

II. Licensed Appraiser or Licensed Mass Appraiser - the above 75 hours, plus an additional 75 hours in 

the following courses (QE4, QE5, QE6 and QE7). 

III. Certified Residential Appraiser or Certified Residential Mass Appraiser- the above 150 hours, plus 50 

additional hours in the following courses (QE8, QE9 and 20 hours QEE). 

IV. Certified General Appraiser or Certified General Mass Appraiser - 300 hours total in the following 

courses (QE1, QE2, QE3, QE8, QE10, QE11, QE12, QE13, QE14 and 30 hours QEE). 

Experience 

I. Appraiser Apprentice - will be accruing experience while licensed. 

II. Licensed Appraiser/ Licensed Mass Appraiser - 2000 hours of appraisal experience (250 points) in not 

less than twenty-four months from initial licensure as apprentice. 

III. Certified Residential Appraiser/Certified Residential Mass Appraiser - 2500 total hours of appraisal 

experience (312.5 points) over a minimum of twenty-four months. 

IV. Certified General Appraiser/Certified General Mass Appraiser - 3000 total hours of appraisal 

experience (375 points) with 50% or more in non-residential properties over a minimum of thirty 

months. 
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Examination 

The South Carolina Appraiser license and certification examinations were developed to meet the federal 

requirements and to provide a basis for determining minimal competency in the knowledge, skills, and abilities 

required for appraiser licensure or certification.  These examinations have also been reviewed and endorsed by 

the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of The Appraisal Foundation. 

 

 

Miscellaneous 

I. All non-resident applicants must sign Consent to Service of Process.  Non-residents already licensed or 

certified in another state must supply a Certificate of Licensure from their resident state.  Non-residents 

who are not presently licensed or certified in another jurisdiction will submit the same documentation 

as a resident. 

 

II. Board Review - Any applicant who has any felony or certain non-felony crime(s) or has been 

sanctioned by any licensing agency must reveal that fact on his/her application.  The Regulatory 

Compliance Department may review the application and then conduct an inquiry before an application 

is approved or a permit issued.  This may result in a delay in processing the application. 

 

III. To determine eligibility for the examination the Appraisers Board will screen applications for a fee of 

$30.  After qualifying to sit for an exam, the applicant is sent an eligibility letter with instructions to 

schedule an examination.  It is then the applicant's responsibility to contact PSI Examination Services 

to schedule the test.  PSI is the examination provider for the Appraisers Board. PSI publishes a 

Candidate Information Bulletin for all prospective examinees, which can be found on the Board’s 

website. Examinations are scheduled every Monday through Friday in Columbia, Charleston, 

Greenville, Beaufort/Hilton Head, Myrtle Beach SC and Charlotte NC. Upon completion of the test, 

candidates receive their results immediately.  For more information, please read the Candidate 

Information Bulletin. 

 

Recap Processing Fees - Upon original application for examination, each applicant must pay the following fees: 

 1. Appraiser's Board screening fee is $30. 

 2. PSI’s examination fee is $75. 

 3.   Appraiser’s Board Reclassification fee is $125. 

Applicable license/certification fees are listed on the applications available through the Board office. 

 

 

PERSONS LICENSED IN OTHER STATES  

REQUESTING TO BECOME LICENSED/CERTIFIED IN SOUTH CAROLINA 
 

Applicants licensed or certified in another state requesting to become licensed or certified in South Carolina 

may not be required to pass an exam in this state. Proof of experience may be audited by the Board if 

requested. Qualifying education taken in another state will also be recognized if the courses were approved by 

the regulatory authority in that state. 

 

If this information sheet is more than six months old, call our office for possible changes. 

(803) 896-4400. 

 

 

 

 


