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SYNOPSIS 

This appraiser apprentice classification was established as the entry-level position.  To obtain an Appraiser 

Apprentice Permit, the applicant must document 75 hours of approved appraisal qualifying courses. 

After issuance of the Permit, an apprentice may assist in the performance of real estate appraisals provided that 

the apprentice is actively and personally supervised on each assignment by a State certified appraiser. 

The appraiser apprentice permit is valid for five years.  However, before being allowed to elevate to a higher 

classification, he/she must demonstrate the required number of points of appraisal experience over a minimum 

of 24 months and have successfully completed an approved appraisal examination and satisfied the additional 

education requirements of the higher licensure classification. 

 

QUALIFICATIONS 

Appraiser Apprentice Permits may be granted to individuals who meet the following qualifications: 
 

 Have attained the age of eighteen years; 

 Have graduated from high school or hold a certificate of equivalency; 

 Are residents of South Carolina unless they have fully complied with Section 40-60-37 of the Code 

of Laws of South Carolina regarding consent to jurisdiction.  

 Furnish evidence that they have successfully completed not less than 75 hours in appraisal courses 

approved by this office in the QE1, QE2, and QE3 categories; and 

 

QUALIFYING EDUCATION 

A minimum of seventy-five (75) hours of study in Real Estate Appraisal is required for an applicant to obtain 

an Appraiser Apprentice Permit.  To satisfy the education requirement, applicants must demonstrate that their 

education included coverage of all three courses listed below: 
 

 QE1 Course – Basic appraisal principles (30 hours) 

 QE2 Course – Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours) 

 QE3 Course – National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (15 hours) 

Please refer to the current approved Qualifying Education Course Calendar.  Applicants who have taken 

appraisal courses in the past that are not included on the current directory should contact this office to 

determine whether the course(s) had previously been approved and under which category. 
 

Once individuals have successfully completed the approved courses listed above, they must submit the original 

course certificates of completion. 
 

EXAMINATION 

The state licensing examination is not required for the apprentice permit. 

PERMIT RENEWAL 

Appraiser apprentice permits expire biannually on June 30 of each even numbered year.  This permit is valid 

for maximum of five (5) years.  At renewal, the apprentice must submit his/her application, evidence of twenty-

eight (28) hours of Board approved continuing education, and the $320 permit renewal fee.  If the fifth year 

falls on an odd year the apprentice would submit a renewal fee of $160. 



Appraiser Apprentice Program (Rev 2/2015)  Doc 185 Page 2 of 2 

 

 

RESPONSIBILITIES OF A SUPERVISING APPRAISER 

A supervising appraiser must be a State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser or State Certified 

Residential Real Estate Appraiser in good standing with the board and not subject to any disciplinary 

action within the last three (3) years and must have been state certified for a minimum of three (3) 

years. A certified appraiser may not supervise more than three appraiser apprentices at one time. The 

supervising appraiser shall have the following duties and responsibilities: 

 

1. The supervisor shall at all times be responsible for and provide direct supervision of the work 

performed by the apprentice.  "Direct supervision" means to: 

 

A. Personally review an appraisal report prepared by an apprentice; and 

    

B. Assign work to the apprentice only if the apprentice is competent to perform such work;   

and 

 

C. Accept responsibility for the appraisal report by signing and certifying the report as 

being independently and impartially prepared and in compliance with the Uniform 

Standards of  Professional Appraisal Practice, these regulations, and applicable statutory 

requirements 

 

2. The extent of assistance provided in the appraisal process by the supervising appraiser is 

directly related to the competence of the appraiser apprentice.  The appraiser must maintain an 

appraisal log prescribed by the Appraisers Board to record assignments in which an appraiser 

apprentice participated and submit a certified true copy of this log to the Board when the 

apprentice applies for reclassification. 

 

3. The supervising appraiser shall acknowledge in the appraisal certification the professional 

contribution of the apprentice in accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice and provide the apprentice with a copy of any final appraisal document in 

which the apprentice participated. 

 

4. If the supervising appraiser signs the report alone, the contribution of the apprentice must be 

acknowledged and the specific tasks performed by the apprentice should be clearly stated.  If 

both the apprentice and supervising appraiser co-sign the report, the supervising appraiser 

must accept full responsibility for all aspects of the appraisal process. 

 

5. The supervising appraiser may NOT, under any circumstances, allow and apprentice appraiser 

to sign his name or affix his digital signature to an appraisal report. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


