South Carolina Board of Pyrotechnic Safety
Frequently Asked Questions
How old do you have to be to purchase fireworks?
South Carolina State Law states that no person under the age of sixteen (16) shall be sold permissible fireworks.
Can I sell fireworks from a tent?
No. State law prohibits the retail sale of consumer fireworks from a tent, canopy and membrane structures.
Can I sell fireworks from a vehicle?
No. Fireworks cannot be sold from vehicles such as cars, vans, buses or any other motor driven vehicle.
How can I tell if a fireworks stand is approved to sell fireworks in South Carolina?
An approved firework stand is issued two (2) permits. One is posted on the outside of the stand and the other is posted inside the stand, along with a retail license.
What type of retail fireworks stores does South Carolina permit?
South Carolina permits four types including:
- CFRS (Consumer Fireworks Retail Sale) permits are valid for one year and expire August 31 of each year.
- Store (i.e. Wal-Mart, K-Mart) permits are valid for one year and expire August 31 of each year.
- Permanent Stand (not removed from the property after the fireworks season) permits are valid for one year and expire August 31 of each year.
- Temporary Stand (removed from the property after the season) permits are valid for 90 days from the issue date.
What is the permit fee for a fireworks stand?
The fees vary. The permit fee for a temporary stand is $100. The fee for a permanent stand is $200.
Are M-80s and Cherry Bombs legal in South Carolina?
No. Those types of fireworks have been prohibited by Federal Law since 1966. Firecrackers sold to the public in the U.S. can only have 50 milligrams or less of pyrotechnic composition per firecracker. A true M-80 contains much more than 50 milligrams, and is therefore illegal.
Can illegal fireworks be taken away?
Yes. Illegal fireworks (M-80s and Cherry Bombs) as well as fireworks from an unlicensed stand can be confiscated by law enforcement or the State Fire Marshal.
How do I make a complaint regarding a fireworks facility?
Please complete a complaint form by visiting the S.C. State Fire Marshal website.