South Carolina Manufactured Housing Board
Contractors Need License to Install Manufactured HomesContractors who install manufactured homes in South Carolina must be licensed and bonded by the Manufactured Housing Board of the S. C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
The law requiring licensure went into effect January 1, 1997. Installers who are directly employed by retail sales centers will be licensed under their employers. Licensing is also necessary for repair person.
To become licensed, contractors must have proof of training as approved by the Manufactured Housing Board, pass a test, pay a $50 license fee and obtain a $4,000 surety bond.
Previously, there were four licensing categories for manufactured housing: (1) manufacturer, (2) retail dealer, (3) sales person, and (4) multi-lot sales person. There are now three additions: (1) home contractor, (2) home installer, and (3) home repairer.
A manufactured home dealer or manufacturer has the option of using its own installation crew to install or repair a home or subcontract with a licensed installer, contractor or repairer. It is up to the manufacturer or dealer to make sure that the person or crew it chooses is licensed before installing a home.