boardhome
Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup

Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Fees
Education
FAQ
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Publications
Publications
Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?


Board Information/Laws and Policies
Laws/Policies
FOIA Requests
Minutes
Board Members
Agendas
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4497
Email: contactllr@llr.sc.gov

Doris Cubitt, CPA,
Administrator

Jeanie Rose

Wendi Elrod

Amy Holleman

Mary Sowell League
Advice Counsel




South Carolina Board of Funeral Service

How to Apply for License

Please use the links below to obtain the information that you are looking for.

Letter of Instructions for Funeral Director, Embalmer, or Funeral Director/Embalmer's License

Guidelines for South Carolina Apprentice Funeral Director or Apprentice Embalmer and Supervisors

Information for Applicants Applying for a South Carolina Apprentice Funeral Director or Apprentice Embalmer's License

Letter of Instructions for a New Funeral Facility, Additional Facility Location Change of Facility Name or Change of Facility Manager

Letter of Instructions for Funeral Director, Embalmer, or Funeral Director/Embalmer's License


Funeral Director, Embalmer and Funeral Director/Embalmer licensing requirements:

1. Complete the Board application form items 1 through 16. Must include photograph.

2. Include a personal check, certified check or money order payable to the SC Board of Funeral Services in the amount of:

a. Funeral Director or Embalmer - $175

b. Funeral Director/Embalmer - $250

3. Along with the application, applicants must submit a state-wide criminal history conviction record from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) or equivalent agency located in the applicant's resident state.

4. Verification of Licensure (2) Required for Reciprocity application

5. Applicants must attach an evaluation statement from his/her licensed supervisor.

6. Applicants must attach copies of transcript(s) from an accredited mortuary college or an academic college approved by the board.

Mail the required materials to:

S.C. Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Board of Funeral Services
PO Box 11329
Columbia, S.C. 29211-1329

All applications will be returned if not properly completed or fees not enclosed.

Top of the Document

Guidelines for South Carolina Apprentice Funeral Director or Apprentice Embalmer and Supervisors

  1. South Carolina law requires all apprentices to serve a two-year apprenticeship under the supervision of a funeral director or embalmer who has been licensed in South Carolina for two consecutive years.

  2. During the course of apprenticeship, all apprentices must maintain reports of his/her funeral activities, indicating the actual number of funerals that he/she has assisted and in what position he/she assisted. All apprentices shall report to the Board quarterly upon the quarterly forms provided, indicating the work which has been completed during the preceding quarter. (Apprentices should make copies of the quarterly reporting form for use during the entire apprenticeship period.) The report must be certified by the licensee under whom the apprentice serves.

Reports must be submitted quarterly, regardless of whether or not the apprentice has had any activity during the quarter. March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31 have been designated as the end of the quarters. The quarterly reports must be submitted to the Board office within 10 days immediately following then end of each quarter. (If reports are not submitted within 10 days following the end of the quarter, no apprenticeship credit will be allowed for the specific unreported quarter. It is the apprentice's responsibility to complete the quarterly reports, notices will not be forwarded concerning them.) Apprentices will not be able to complete their apprenticeship unless the reporting requirement is met.

  1. The apprentice must conduct all funeral activities under the direct supervision of the supervisor. Meaning, the supervisor must be present when the apprentice is assisting in directing or embalming.

  2. If the apprentice leaves the supervision of the licensee in whose service he/she has been engaged, the supervisor shall give the apprentice an affidavit showing the length of time served under his/her supervision. If the apprentice shall thereafter seek permission to continue training, he/she must complete a new application to continue.

  3. The apprentice must assist in embalming of at least 50 bodies for an apprentice embalmer or assist the funeral director in at least 50 funerals for apprentice funeral director.

  4. Apprenticeship may be served before or after attending academic college or mortuary college, or a portion served before and a part after college. An apprentice cannot serve his/her apprenticeship while a student in mortuary college or a full time student in academic college. A full time student is one taking twelve or more semester hours or its equivalent in quarter hours.

If you have any questions regarding the guidelines pertaining to an apprentice, call the Board office at (803) 896-4497 or FAX (803) 896-4554.

Top of the Document

Information for Applicants Applying for a South Carolina Apprentice Funeral Director or Apprentice Embalmer's License


When submitting an application to the Board office for an apprentice funeral director or apprentice embalmer license, the requirements are as follows:

1. Complete the Board application form items 1 through 18. (Must include photograph).

2. Obtain a personal check, certified check or postal money order in the amount of $50 for an apprentice funeral director or embalmer. (If applying for both apprenticeships you must submit $100).

3. Along with the application, applicants must submit a statewide criminal history conviction record from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) or equivalent agency in the applicantant's resident state.

4. If the applicant has attended an accredited mortuary college or an academic college approved by the board, attach a copy of the transcript(s).

Mail the required materials to:

S.C. Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Board of Funeral Service
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, S.C. 29211-1329

All applications will be returned if not properly completed or fees not enclosed.

Top of the Document


Letter of Instructions for a New Funeral Facility, Additional Facility Location Change of Facility Name or Change of Facility Manager


When submitting an application to the Board's Office for a new funeral facility, additional facility location, change of facility name or change of facility manager, the requirements are as follows:

1. Complete the Board application form, items 1 through 18.

2. Obtain a personal check, certified check or postal money order in the amount of:

a. New Facility - $300

b. Additional Facility - $200

c. Facility Name Change or Change of Ficility Manager - $10

3. Manager must appear before the Board for a new facility or additional facility.

4. If incorporated, manager must be an officer of the corporation and must provide proof by application (Articles of Incorporation or minutes showing position and authority.) If Change of Manager, must also provide a copy of Corporate Resolution.

5. The facility name or name change must not include a name of any unlicensed person(s).

6. Along with the application, applicants must submit a state-wide criminal history conviction record from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) or equivalent agency located in the applicant's resident state.

Mail the required materials to:

S.C. Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Board of Funeral Service
P.O. Box 11329
Columbia, S.C. 29211-1329

For additional assistance or clarification, contact the Board's Office at (803) 896-0379 or fax (803) 896-4554.

All applications will be returned if not properly completed or fees not enclosed.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.,m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.