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Mission Statement

To protect the public health, safety and welfare in the State of
South Carolina by the licensure and regulation of dentists,
dental hygienists and dental technicians.
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CHANGE OF NAME and/or ADDRESS REMINDER: To
ensure receipt of important information from the Board, you
must contact the Board office with any changes in name or
address. Name changes require a copy of a court order,
marriage certificate, divorce decree or other official document.

2006 Renewal of Licenses On Line

Many of you have renewed online this year and, from your
comments, found it to be a rather easy and convenient way to
renew. Those who did not renew by Dec. 31, must now
renew by mail and pay the applicable late fees.

In order to renew after Dec. 31, you must download the form
from our Web site at www./lr.state.sc.us/pol/dentistry
or request, in writing or via fax, an application form be mailed
to you. You must complete the blank application, enclose the
appropriate fee (including late fees) and mail it to the Board
office. Please be reminded that if the application is
incomplete, it will be returned to you. Please allow 4 to 6
weeks to receive your license by mail.

Effective Jan. 1, 2006, the following late fees and penalties
apply:

e If your application is postmarked between Jan. 1 and
Jan. 31, 2006, the renewal fee is DOUBLED.

If your application is postmarked between Feb. 1 and
Feb. 28, 2006, your fee is DOUBLED + $5.00 per
day is added until reregistration is complete.

Effective March 1, 2006, the License EXPIRES.
You may not lawfully practice unless and until your
license is reinstated by the Board. Contact the Board
office for information on reinstatement.

Newsletter On Line

LLR is actively seeking ways to operate more efficiently.
Among the ways that the various Boards, including Dentistry,
plan to reduce costs is by publishing, online, downloadable
applications and forms, including newsletters. Therefore, we
are no longer printing and mailing out our Board Newsletter.
This issue is the first to be offered online. We encourage you
to print a copy of it, and subsequent issues, for future
reference.

Verification of License On Line

When you need a written verification of your license to send to
another licensing board, hospital, health care provider, etc.,
from the South Carolina Board of Dentistry, you are to make
your request online at https://verify.lironline.com. The cost
per verification is $20.00




C.E. Audit Results

Each renewal period, licensees are required to certify that the information reported on their license renewal form is complete and true
to the best of their knowledge. Falsely certifying on a license renewal form that the requirements have been met, when in fact they
have not, is a violation of the Dental Practice Act and subject to disciplinary action.

In May 2005, the Board conducted a random audit of 5% of its licensees for the time period Jan. 1, 2003 — Dec. 31, 2004. All but two
of the licensees audited were determined be in compliance and are to be commended for responding promptly to the audit and
providing all required documentation requested by the Board. The two non-compliant licensees failed to respond to the audit and were
issued Cease and Desist Orders.

Reminder: For auditing purposes, verification of C.E. must be in the form of an official certificate or a letter of attendance from the
course sponsor. Study clubs and associations that provide C.E. courses for their members should develop form certificates or
documentation.

New Format for State Board Specialty Examinations

The Board of Dentistry recently reviewed proposed changes to its format of examining candidates for specialty board licensure.
Following the July 2005 State Board Specialty Examinations, the presidents of the South Carolina specialty societies were contacted and
given an opportunity to review and comment on the proposed changes. After reviewing and considering the comments received, the
Board voted, at a meeting on Sept. 10, 2005, to eliminate the clinical portion of its State Board Specialty Examinations and require a
written exam and an oral exam consisting of case presentations. The individual specialty groups were asked by the Board to develop
a comprehensive written exam and a case presentation format for their respective candidates. The Board will continue to deputize
specialty examiners to administer the exams. The examinations will be administered twice a year (winter/summer) at the Board office.
The next examination is scheduled on Saturday, Jan. 14, 2006.

Special Thanks to Deputies

The Board would like to recognize and thank the following individuals who served as deputized examiners at the July
2005 State Board Specialty Examinations: Dr. Elizabeth J. Bjornson; Dr. Mark A. Chishom; Dr. J. Allen Coward; Dr.
Loring L. Ross, and Dr. Deirdre S. Williams.

Board Says Farewell to Dr. Martin and Welcomes Dr. Dixon

On Dec. 31, 2005, Dr. Amon Martin completed his six-year term on the Board of Dentistry. Dr. Martin served as chairman of the Board
during 2004-2005. His service and leadership were greatly appreciated by the other members of the Board and the Board'’s staff.

On April 22, 2005, Governor Mark Sanford appointed Dr. Thomas M. Dixon to a six-year term on the Board of Dentistry beginning Jan.
1, 2006. Dr. Dixon is a general dentist practicing in Honea Path. The members of the Board look forward to serving with Dr. Dixon.

Hand Over Mouth Technigue

There have been questions recently concerning the hand over mouth technique (HOME) as utilized for behavior management in
children. This article should clarify the status of HOME in contemporary practice.

The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) no longer teaches the technique to dental students or residents, and they are not
allowed to use it. The faculty members of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry state unequivocally that they do not, and would not,
utilize HOME although they may have employed it in the distant past. The procedure is still accepted by enough of the pediatric dental
specialty to maintain its place in the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) guidelines, but there has been pressure within
the Academy to remove it as an “accepted” procedure.

If a dental practitioner plans to utilize HOME, written informed consent from a legal guardian must be obtained and documented in the
patient record prior to its use. Failure to do so could result in disciplinary action. (See Dental Practice Act of South Carolina, Laws for
the Practice of Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, and the Performance of Dental Technological Work in South Carolina, 1998, Section 40-15-
190 (Grounds for Discipline) (A)(16)).

Further information about HOME can be found in the AAPD Guidelines, page 92, or at www.aapd.org., Policies and Guidelines, Behavior

Management, page 4 of the Behavior Guidelines.
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2006 State Board Infiltration Anesthesia Exam Dates

The 2006 State Board Infiltration Anesthesia Exam dates are listed below. The written exams are administered at the Board office.
Contact the Board office (803) 896-4599 for information and application.

Examination Date Application Deadline

01/20/06 01/06/06
04/14/06 03/31/06
07/21/06 07/07/06
10/13/06 09/29/06

Appointment of Hearing Panel Members

At its July 15, 2005 meeting, the Board voted to revise its current disciplinary process to include a panel hearing as part
of the process. The Board also voted to establish a pool of panel members to serve as designated hearing officers and
panel members for the purpose of assisting in the conduct of disciplinary hearings. The names of individuals interested in
serving as hearing officers or hearing panel members will be submitted to the Board for consideration. The Board will
appoint persons who are licensed dental professionals, dentists and dental hygienists, residing in the State and practicing
their profession, and public members, to serve as disciplinary hearing officers and panel members, empowered to conduct
hearings and other matters against dental professionals filed with the Board.

Legislative Update

Dental Licensure by Credentials. Effective May 26, 2005, Section 40-15-275 was added to the South Carolina Dental Practice Act,
authorizing the Board to issue a license by credentials to practice dentistry.

Re-examination. Effective May 26, 2005, Reg. 39-4.1 was added to the Rules and Regulations to establish procedures for re-
examination of applicants for licensure who have failed a licensing examination three successive times.

National Board: Effective May 26, 2005, Reg. 39-4 was amended to delete the requirement that the National Board Examination
must have been passed within 15 years.

Sedation and General Anesthesia. Effective June 7, 2005, Reg. 39-17 was amended to update the language and clarify
requirements for the administration of sedation and general anesthesia so as to conform to national guidelines.

Dental Licensure by Credentials

With legislation now in place, the South Carolina Board of Dentistry is authorized to grant dental licensure by credentials.
Applications for dental licensure by credentials are now available by contacting the Board office at (803) 896-
4599, and will soon be available online.

C.E. Requirements

Within any two consecutive years, every dentist must obtain 28 C.E. hours; every dental hygienist must obtain 14 C.E.
hours, and every dental technician must obtain 8 C.E. hours. C.E. courses sponsored or endorsed by the following
organizations and agencies are acceptable:

American Dental Association (ADA); National Dental Association (NDA); Academy of General Dentistry (AGD);
American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA); American Dental Assistants’ Association (ADAA); National
Association of Dental Laboratories, or their local societies and associations;

National, state, local and district dental specialty organizations recognized by the ADA and NDA;

Dental colleges or schools accredited by the ADA;

American Red Cross; American Heart Association.

Study clubs and local societies or associations are approved C.E. course sponsors, provided a form of verification of the
CE course name, date, instructor and hours is provided.




Correspondence and home-study courses are approved, provided a post-test is successfully completed and a certificate of
completion is obtained. One credit hour of C.E. is earned for each one contact hour of instruction.

Complaint Form

If you believe the practice or service provided by a licensed professional or registrant to be unethical, below an
acceptable standard of care, or outside the scope of the profession, or if you are aware of unlicensed practice, please call
the Board office at (803) 896-4599 and request a complaint form. The complaint form is also available on the Board’s
Web site at www.lIr.state.sc.us. All investigations and proceedings are confidential by law.

Disciplinary Actions

Daughtry, Curtiss W., D.D.S.

Consent Order — July 17, 2005

Failed to meet the standard of care in the practice of orthodontic dentistry. (License suspended for one year, immediately stayed,
probation for one year. $5,000 fine.)

Hanley, William J., D.M.D.

Consent Order — July 17, 2005

False or misleading advertising. (License suspended for one year, immediately stayed, probation for one year, concurrent with the
period of five years suspension (stayed) and five years probation imposed by the previous Consent Order of Feb. 7, 2003. $2,000
fine.)




